A quick glance back at Sept to July for Woman in Translation

I have not made many plans for the woman in translation month. I feel as I review just books in translation these days I review as many woman writers as I come across or I am sent. So I decide like Tony have a look back over the last twelve months and a list of woman reviewed here.

Two green otters by Bucket Uzuner – a tale of one woman’s life struggling through 80’s turkey.

Trysting by Emmanuelle Pagano – unnamed voices of lovers talking about love and sex

Woman as lovers by Elfriede Jelinek – two factory girls love lives told through the years.

The Empress and the Cake by Linda Stift – A woman drawn into a bizarre old world of Austria

 

None like her by Jela  Krečič- a macho man searches for some one to replace his great love.

The boy by Wytske Versteeg – a Dutch couple adopt a boy but is he all he seems.

Swallowing mercury by Wioletta Greg – childhood memories of childhood in Poland .

Cockroaches by Sholastique Mukasonga glimpse of growing up in Rwanda before the troubles.

Breathing into Marble by Laura Sintija Cerniauskaite- another family adopt a child as their son is ill.

 

Image of Magdaléna Platzová’s “The Attempt”

The Attempt by Magdalena Platzova- A historian follows a famous anarchist she is writing about.

Our lady of the Nile by  Scolastique Mukasonga – the second book by her now her school years.

Fever dream by Samanta Schweblin – a woman remembers a past as she has a fever in a bed beside a child.

Mirror shoulder signal by Dorthe Nors – a woman learns to drive but all is not as it seems.

Hair everywhere by Tea Tulic – a mosaic of a family life with the mother dying.

Belladonna by  Daša Drndić– academic looks back on his life and history of the 20th century.

 

The children by Carolina Sanin– a woman ends up with a strange boy and tries to find his family.

Eve out of her ruins by Ananda Devi– a young girl growing up in Mauritius.

Our Dead World by Liliana Colanzi– Short stories from Bolivia.

Nona’s room by Cristina Fernandez Cubas– a collection of stories the title about a sister that has a special sister.

Before by Carmen Boullosa- a young girl talking about growing up in Mexico.

twenty books in all. out of 88 books read in the last eleven months.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Aug 08, 2017 @ 11:56:51

    Wow Stu, that’s a very impressive list. It’s good to see you’ve classified them into a category where we can find them easily in the future too.

    Reply

  2. Michael @ Knowledge Lost
    Aug 08, 2017 @ 13:19:59

    I hate the male/female ratio in my reading life just as much as I have the American author/rest of the world ratio. I’m trying to work on both and I’m still new to the translated lit game but I see a few in the list that interest me.

    Reply

  3. Tony
    Aug 08, 2017 @ 13:42:44

    Some good books there, Stu 🙂

    Reply

  4. Resh Susan @ The Book Satchel
    Aug 08, 2017 @ 17:07:21

    This is a wonderful list. I remember your review of Swallowing Mercury. Eve out of her ruins is one that I hope I will read soon.

    Reply

  5. BookerTalk
    Aug 08, 2017 @ 18:03:17

    Is there one from this list that stand out for ? A favourite or two?

    Reply

Leave a comment

August 2017
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives