Seeing red by Lina Meruane

Image result for lina meruane seeing red

 

Seeing red by Lina Meruane

Chilean fiction

Original title –Sangre en el ojo

Translator – Megan Mcdowell

Source – review copy

This is another book that deep Vellum brought out but I never got to the e-book, so I was pleased when I was sent a copy from Atlantic books.It shows the talent that is coming from Latin America also the talented female writers. This ticks two boxes one from Spanish lit month and the other for  Woman translation month. As I say there seems to be a number of great Latin American writers and like most of them Lina Meruane is based in New York where she got a degree in Latin American literature, which she now teaches. She has written four novels this is her first to be translated into English.

But no , it was no fire i was seeing, it was blood spilling outminside my eye. The most shockingly beautiful blood I have ever seen.The most outrageous.The most terrifying.The blood gushed, but only I could see it.With absolute clarityI watched as it thickened, I saw rhe pressure rise, I watched as I got dizzy, I saw my stomach turn, saw that I was starting to retch, and even s.I didn’t straighten up or move an inch, didn’t even try to breathe while I watched the show. Because that was the last thing I would see, that night though that eye: a deep, black blood

As the Haemorrage is happening described by Lucina.

This is a novel that is partly based on the writers own experience. Like Lucina in the book Lina has also experienced what it is like to lose her sight. The book follows Lucina a young Chilean writer, who has come to New York like many writers from Latin America, the early part follows her when knows she has a condition that means some point, she may lose her sight. So when it happens it is still a shock to her. But also to her boyfriend who becomes her eyes Ignacio becomes her eyes as we see her become  familiar with using her other senses more as the world one familiar become very alien to her and even her most personal relationship has to readjust to make way for her blindness, but also the change it has made for Lucina as a person. Someone more connected to her emotions than she was before with more feeling and in a strange way seeing the world more without sight than she ever did with sight.

Ignacio is still in the airport, a disconcerted frown on his face. Ignacio standing under the glowing screen. Bepatures.Arrivals.His glasses glint over his now-empty eyes.Its an aged and ruined Ignacio. An Ignacio cracked like an old statue on the verge of collapse. His shirt with sleeves rolled up and his linen pants utterly tattered and his dull bronze shoes fixed to the floor. Centuroieshave passed I think, and there he remains covered by ash or dust of my depature,clutching the anxious kiss I blew to him.

A man broken in a way by caring and seeing her slipping away in a way .

Now blindness has been tackled at various times in Literature, Saramago Blindness where everyone goes blind, but it maybe captures the anger we feel her in Meruane words. The Day of the triffids shows the sheer panic one can feel when one lose the sight. But this is also a story of how a person adapts completely. Having worked many years ago with Older blind people, I get the stoic nature of Lucina, but also the underlying anger at times. A wonderfully observed book of snatch dreams and new turns in a life that has been part of the writer’s own story shows the current power of female writers from Latin America or as Bolano said of her one of the one or two greats on the new generation of  Chilean writers who promise to have it all. Great words about her.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Aug 09, 2017 @ 20:34:37

    There are some outstanding Latin American women writers starting to get translated now – long may it last! I have to catch up with them, only know Valeria Luiselli, Claudia Pineiro and Patricia Melo.

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Aug 09, 2017 @ 22:15:58

    It sounds wonderful, but I could not read this. I am terrified of losing my sight. I reckon I could put up with deafness, but not being able to read would destroy me.

    Reply

  3. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Aug 10, 2017 @ 08:21:31

    I do like the sound of this one, especially given the author’s own experience and what that brings to the writing, I’m happy too that we are seeing many more South American women writers being translated, it’s an exciting time for literature in translation.

    Reply

  4. 1streading
    Aug 12, 2017 @ 13:00:22

    I’ve read this but not reviewed it as I’ll be seeing Meruane at the Edinburgh Book Festival. I found the novel very much reflected her feelings but this made it rather narrow almost as if the novel itself could only see so much. I’ll be interested to hear what she has to say.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: That was the month that was August 2017 | Winstonsdad's Blog
  6. Trackback: Man Booker international 2018 what will be there? | Winstonsdad's Blog

Leave a comment

August 2017
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives