The empress and the cake by Linda Stift

 

The empress and the cake by linda Stift

Austrian fiction

Original title – Stierhunger

Translator – Jamie Bulloch

Source – review copy

My fourth german lit month book is one from one of my favourite publishers Peirene and also one that in recent years provide a number of great german reads and this latest book from Austria is another one of what Meike the founder of the press calls a two-hour journey in words. Linda stift studied German Philology and slavic studies then took a job as an editor after that she won a writing competition for a magazine in Vienna. Then she started to write novels her first came out in 2005 and has since written three novels this is her second book she has also won a number  of prizes for her work.

The shop assistant cut a marbled Gugelhupf into two halves and packaged these in boxes like the one on her head. Three euros each, please, ladies I paid my share and took the box. I was now in possession of half a gugelhupf I had no idea what I was going to do with; I’d hardly touched sweet things for years. I tried to say goodbye to the strange woman, annoyed by the pointless purchase I’d been coerced into,but she ignored my attempts to leave .

The first meeting and a slice of cake gives a glimpse into a past that is about to be reborn.

Now what happens when a young woman sat in a cafe innocently accepts a slice of marble cake of a woman sat by her that in her mind reminds her of a lost Austrian royal . Well in this strange fairy tale she takes the cake from her bt what we don’t know at first is the cost of the cake for her. She has spent many year clear of an eating disorder that this small cake will unlock but also at the same time she is drawn into a mad world of the Frau Hohenembs getting invite after invite to join her in her old apartment building. Then she steals a syringe used by the empress for her drug use.Pretending to be the empress in a competition. Where will this journey end ?

I was learning a new vomiting technique and was eating by colours. I started with chemical sweets such as bright-green gummy frogs or pink foam bacon bits or claret so-called laces and snakes. These took time to mix with the mush of food that followed, which meant that my vomiting could be monitored.I would puke until I’d arrived at this tough, lurid mass, so I could be sure I’d got everything out.

horrific lines but many young woman and men suffer from this condition and we need to talk about it sometimes .

This is a sort of odd take on the Alice story eat one slice of cake then be sick as at one point she says releasing multi colours. This is a story of addiction , illness and madness from two sides that of the older controlling Hohenembs and the younger women  who is drawn by temptation under the spell of the older woman and her servant. And like Alice a number of tasks have to be done along the way by the young woman to escape both the older woman and the monster from her past the bulimia she is now gripped again by As the bizarre epigraph points too “I can eat as much as I’d like to vomit ”  by Max liebermann taken in another context to that which he said after jewish art was banned in Germany . So the city of Freud has brought us again to the woman of the city like those that crossed his doorway they have there problems but in this tale there is no Freud to talk to them no this is more a Kafka or in my mind I was reminded of the twisted journey of Blaugast in Paul Leppins novel of the same name a twisted journey like this one of the characters in this book. A look at what it is to suffer with an eating disorder it is a subject rarely written about and not in such a surreal way as this book that feels like a trip into madness.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Nov 06, 2016 @ 00:49:15

    It might not be common to write about eating disorders in the UK and Europe, but there’s been quite a few lately in Australia.

    Reply

  2. kimbofo
    Nov 06, 2016 @ 07:53:11

    Lisa’s just said what I was going to say. I’ve read two books from Australia on eating disorders this year, and two more from Canada were on the Giller Prize list.

    Reply

  3. Mary Mayfield
    Nov 07, 2016 @ 00:52:24

    Oddly, I didn’t see the eating disorder as being the heart of this book, but just showing how the narrator has lost control of herself. Although there are several threads relating to addiction of one sort of another, I’d put the emphasis on the Frau Hohenembs’ manipulation of the narrator. To my mind, she’s rather like the wicked witch who lures Hansel and Gretel into her gingerbread house with the intent of eating them! http://ourbookreviewsonline.blogspot.co.uk/2016/10/the-empress-and-cake-by-linda-stift.html

    Reply

  4. Trackback: A quick glance back at Sept to July for Woman in Translatio | Winstonsdad's Blog
  5. Trackback: German Literature Month VI: (Belated) Author Index | Lizzy's Literary Life

Leave a comment

November 2016
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives