By night the mountain burns by Juan Tomas Avila Laurel

 

 

 

By Night the M B front cover CMYK

By night the mountain burns by Juan Tomas Avila Laurel

Equatorial Guinea fiction

Original title – Arde el monte de noche

Translator – Jethro Soutar

Source – review copy

 

“Memories Can’t Wait”

Do you remember anyone here?
No you don’t remember anything at all
I’m sleeping, I’m flat on my back
Never woke up, had no regrets

There’s a party in my mind…And it never stops
There’s a party up there all the time…They’ll
party till they drop
Other people can go home…Other peoplle they can split
I’ll be here all the time…I can never quit

Was hard to find a lyric but talking heads for some reason seemed right and a song about memories .

Well this is one I had read last year but put to one-sided and never got too , which doesn’t mean I didn’t like it the opposite really I loved it at the time sometimes if I leave a book too long to get to I never do .So last few days I flicked through it again and remember what I enjoyed about it after it made the IFFP longlist .Juan Tomas Avila Laurel is one of the voice to speak out against his countries harsh regime .A well-known blogger in his country , he worked as a nurse .He chose to stay in Equatorial Guinea ,when a lot of his fellow writers left .He eventually left in 2011 after he went on hunger strike to tie in with a visit from a Spanish minister  .

If there were too few people on our Atlantic Ocean island , too few strong people , we obviously wouldn’t be able to fish in canoes .There would be no need to ask a woman to have malanga soup ready at particular hour of particular afternoon , and nobody would sing to pull a half made canoe to its final destination

The island works together at times .

Now By night the mountain burns is one of those books that feel as thou it has been around for years in its style of writing  because the world we see maybe hasn’t changed for years .laurel draws on the small island of Annobon which is part of the country but also maybe shows more what is wrong with the country as it is smaller and poorer  .But rather like Fois book bloodlines is cut off from the surround world a world caught in amber .In this case it is an island where some of the past still lives on in myths and traditions . But the island is faces many other problems as Cholera and fire have both broken out and are spreading like wildfire .This is all told to us through the eyes of one of the youngest members of a family the young grandchild of a family  .So will it be fire disease or the old superstitions that drive the family out ?

They made the dead man a coffin and in the afternoon they went to bury him , following the procedure I described earlier . All the children who lived on the streets of the funeral procession were shut up in their homes with the windows covered up , forbidden from going outside until the adults got back .

A world full of tradition and the fear of what cholrea have brought to the island

I really enjoyed this when I read it last year as it is what seems the second book to be translated from its country it is hard to compare it with any other African fiction as Equatorial Guinea is the only Spanish-speaking country in africa . But at the time I noted down one book it reminded me of and that boom was” the last will and testament of senhor Da Silva Arajo by Germano Almeida “a book from Cape Verde a small island off Africa rather like Annobon I was  reminded as both gave  me  a feel of island life (meaning it is rather slow and often can have developed its own mythology ).A great choice for the English pen translation programme bringing us a writer that stands up for what he believes and in this book he shows us in part what is so wrong with his home country .In this book rich in its poetic language .

have you read this book ?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roughghosts
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 16:16:51

    Excellent review Stu. Thank you for calling attention to the value of PEN in helping ensure that creative voices are not silenced. I also loved this book, another example of the diversity on this year’s IFFP long list I think.

    Reply

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 16:17:11

    Sounds like a compelling read, Stu.

    Reply

  3. BookerTalk
    Mar 28, 2015 @ 10:42:55

    I love discovering the background to some of the writers from countries where they have to struggle against the regime to make their voice heard. Having read your review Stu I wanted to find out a bit more about Laurel and in doing found a good piece about his arrest from the translator of this book. It shows how translator and writer form strong bonds during the process. http://www.theguardian.com/books/booksblog/2014/feb/27/translating-dangers-author-under-threat

    Reply

  4. Kinna
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 17:35:59

    Wow, Stu. I hadn’t heard of this writer prior to your mention and this review. And I don;t think I’ve read anything from Equatorial Guinea. thanks for the review, added it to my wishlist.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Top 50 books in translation since 2000 | Winstonsdad's Blog

Leave a comment

March 2015
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives