Winstons coffee and Muffins

So as I said with Winston’s covers as this week’s chaos descended in the UK,every night watchingthe news and seeing  the youth of this country go on the rampage I turned to a book first Dart by Alice Oswald and then after reading about a river ,I wanted to read a book about being on a river  and grab my vintage classic copy of Jerome K Jerome’s Three men in a boat ,so I read about a peaceful english life of drift don the Thames on a boat with two  friends and a slightly mad dog (sure Winston would love to go on a boat ,saying that he loves the water ).A different world of simple joys ,the book is very pretty as well as it has illustrations by the british comedian Vic Reeves.

I found this an escape from our current situation .So this is the question

what do you do in times of trouble ?

have you a place in books you feel safe ?

 

 

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda1966
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 16:51:22

    Hi Stu, my safety books are sometimes kids books but my adult idyll is definitely James Herriot. I used to always take one on holiday with me in case I felt homesick. Wonderful stories of his 1930’s life in the dales. Though I do love Three Men In a Boat too. Montmorency is a great dog!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Aug 14, 2011 @ 17:01:03

      I wanted to visit the house with work the other year when we where on hoilday with work but didn’t get time ,herriot is a great escape too ,all the best stu

      Reply

  2. Lynne Perednia
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 17:43:18

    Herriot is an excellent choice! I might go back to Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead, because it includes an old man’s wish his young son’s future is bright.

    Reply

  3. Frances
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 18:03:12

    Wodehouse and mysteries are both great escapes for me. And comic books. Have developed a real appreciation for Thor since the new film came out.

    Reply

  4. Leeswammes
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 18:08:53

    In times of distress, I like to read something not too demanding, as I usually can’t keep my concentration. So I’d read a chick-lit or a mystery.

    Reply

  5. Anbolyn
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 22:01:46

    I like to read fast-paced mysteries when I’m feeling anxious. It really helps me to escape. I’m glad you found some comfort during the stressful events last week!

    Reply

  6. Heather
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 00:57:20

    if baking doesn’t work, then I’ll read an historic romance. definitely escapist.

    Reply

  7. Bellezza
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 02:20:48

    Will you laugh at me if I tell you the first book I go to in times of trouble is the Bible? There is nothing like a psalm, or a favorite verse, in King James to soothe my soul. What an interesting question, though, because there are fiction books I find great solace in as well. I just have to think of what they would be beyond my childhood favorite Charlotte’s Web. Maybe we go back to our roots in times of trouble.

    Reply

  8. Penny
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 03:37:58

    At one time the Alexander McCall Smith books took me away from my worries. The stories of life in Botswana are not as quick a read as I first think them to be; and the characters are full of unadorned courage and a bit of style. The poetry of Wislawa Szymborska also puts me back on my path a bit braver as I make small footprints in a dangerous world.

    Reply

  9. Gavin
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 00:13:17

    I read mysteries and fantasies when I’m stressed and anxious. And if I need safety and comfort I will reread “To Kill a Mockingbird”. My library has Three Men in a Boat..I’ve added it to the TBR list.

    Reply

Leave a comment

August 2011
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives