Calling in The zone and other IFFP related items

zone_cover

Well strangely Tony Malone and myself discussed last year about adding a book to the IFFP longlist. if we felt a truly great book had been missed from the original list .I believe the Shadow Giller did this a few years ago .With over 120 books enter for the IFFP a few titles we considered were going to get missed but we at the shadow jury felt that Zone by Mathias Enard , was one that really should be there .So after a discussion a few of us are willing to add it so we will be adding this to our longlist. Here is my review of this book , which I am pleased to add as it also supports Fitzcarraldo editions one of our newest publishers  .In other news I ‘ve been quiet this weekend as I tried to get a few of the iffp books read and out-of-the-way , which I have done I managed to get two books read and am well into a third .How was your weekend ?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 09:02:22

    My weekend had plenty of reading, and I finished The Librarian by Mikhail Elizarov which is going to be one of my books of the year! 🙂

    Reply

  2. 1streading
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 14:58:17

    I remember the discussion last year. It seems reasonable given that the whole point is to promote reading books in translation. It will be interesting to see if it makes our short list!

    Reply

  3. Bellezza
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 17:51:41

    My weekend wasn’t as good as yours in terms of getting the books knocked off for the IFFP. I’m still in process of trying to locate them! But, even though I don’t have time for The Zone (I think) I’m definitely buying it. Read the sample on my Kindle and it’s awesome. Thanks for the idea!

    Reply

  4. roughghosts
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 18:17:06

    I am also interested in reading this after all the talk but whether I get it in before we have to debate a short list is unlikely.

    Reply

  5. A Little Blog of Books
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 21:14:43

    I’ll do my best to get hold of a copy of Zone asap. So far I’ve read 4 so 11 still to go…

    Reply

  6. BookerTalk
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 08:39:31

    Judging by the widely differing opinions on this book I think you’ve made a good call to include this. A book that I’ve seen described as one of the most important novels of the decade deserves to be discussed at least

    Reply

  7. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 20:15:01

    I love the idea of you adding something extra ‘the wildcard’ to the longlist, even two titles would be great, it’s your unique contribution and you’re all well qualified in my view to make that call.

    A quiet weekend readingwise but loving reading all the reviews! Bonne Continuation all.

    Reply

  8. Tony
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 09:46:09

    I wonder if the ‘real’ judges have heard of our plan. I hope so – and I hope they feel very foolish indeed 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment

March 2015
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives