Welcome 2016 reading resolutions and Euro 2016

 

2016-01-01_10.15.35

Well I’m back and for the first time ever I am going to resolve to do a few things over the coming year blog wise. The first is a vow to review every book I read, so in order to do this I may need to read fewer books than previous years. I have been reading about 130 books on average a year but only tend to get to review two-thirds of the books so I am aiming for 100 books and 100 reviews this year and given my effort to try to improve this bloggers review style I am currently dipping into CS Lewis and IA Richards books on reviewing  . I will also do the first man booker international shadow jury which I am looking forward to see how the combing of the two prizes will effect the quality of the long and shortlists this  coming year . I keep vowing to read more english books , but I tried and failed with a different blog. So a small-scale effort , I will be doing a second Henry Green week  later in the year four years after the original Henry Green week . As you see I have a new Kindle well Fire that Amanda got me for christmas and I am looking for those lost gems of translated fiction that I can find via my kindle. As for other targets i have singled out Russia, I am a jumper of countries unlike Tony I tend to want to jump around the world every year although I was a bit Latin american Light blog wise last year so I may need to find a few latin american books to read .The other big project I want to do is around European 2016 football books and football I did a big project early on in the blog around the world cup in 2010 a full four years before anyone else connected blogs and football. For me this combines my two biggest passions football and books, but as we know male readers under thirty are the least likely to read so I really want to get these posts out there for a vague hope of connection using more of the football side to get clicks on the posts well I hope at least.

henry green

I hope to bring more films and music as well this year . My end of year blog round-up post told me I had managed 207 posts last year which was more than I expected given I was poor blogger at various times last year. So much the same as ever just translation given the henry green week so much same as ever. I have read some great books over christmas so when I do my best of 2015 post tomorrow I am like a jack in the  box all wound up for 2016 ready to pop back up.So what are your plans for 2016 reading wise.

January 2016
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives