One book bookshop how about one book a week book blog?

File:'Man Reading' by John Singer Sargent, Reading Public Museum.jpg

I was listening to a recent edition of books on the nightstand podcast and they reminded me of a story I had seen a few weeks ago in the guardian again about this Japanese bookstore that has turned choice on its head by choosing one book a week to be  highlighted and sold in its shop and every week the art work events during the week all focus on the one book of that week .Well I was on nights last night and pondered would this work as a way to Blog. By choosing  one book a week.Using that  one book to quote, review, interview the writer / translator / publicist , other ways to connect other  books to the single book, recipes pictures of the places in the book. For example. I have often wondered if there is a way to expand beyond a simple review format without getting to pretensious .But I have want to show a book is  more than just a book. I want to  place it in context with other books and even other media. A way of discovering the writers feelings about the book , also  the readers feeling and also its place in the grand scheme of fiction. I think of how Holmes Mind palace is displayed in the television show  Sherlock. The way ones mind can jump from place to place and your own memories and experience in life and in books form a backbone of a reading. Whilst reading so each reader is on their own journey with a book. I still not sure if this would be overkill or a new and different way to focus on one book a week that gives a single book more of the spotlight but also allows for more focus on each book. I still thinking of this as an idea. Do you think it would work or be overkill for a book ? I do think it may be helpful for a lot of the smaller publishers I review books for to have their book in focus for a week on the blog.

January 2016
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives