Henry Green Week

Well it is here Henry Green Week .I decide to Honour him with a week following a discussion on twitter with the editor of folio society ,about green the have a forthcoming edition of his one of his books .But we also said how he had dropped a bit of the radar for most readers .I felt it was a shame for at the time he was around Green was held in the same esteem as Evelyn Waugh .His writing is inventive and thou he hate being called a modernist ,it has traits of the modernist style although as you see in the link to the Paris review interview here  he   said he wrote living and he hadn’t even read Ulysses .I ve read Caught  his wartime novel about the fire service in London in which He served during the war .I m just in middle of concluding a book set in a school on a single day .So please let me know of your review at end of week I ll do a round-up of posts from round the web .I m looking forward to seeing what people made of his works .

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caroline
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 08:01:40

    I’m so glad you host this. I wouldn’t have read him else and I really liked what I read and am looking forward to the reviews and discussions.

    Reply

  2. Rob
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 08:11:33

    How exciting Stu. Too busy too take part in Henry Green Week myself, but I wish you every success. Have fun.
    Rob

    Reply

  3. Bellezza
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 13:02:13

    I very much enjoyed Living and would love to talk about the end of that sometime. Thanks for bringing this well known to others, but not to me, author to my attention.

    Reply

  4. Simon T
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 15:18:24

    I’m still enjoying Blindness – I will make sure my review is up by the end of the week!

    Reply

  5. Vishy
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 18:57:17

    Thanks for hosting Henry Green week, Stu! I am so excited! Green is a writer I long wanted to read. I first heard of him when I read an essay about him in the literary section of the newspaper. Then I read his Paris Review interview and I read about his life and I have been fascinated by his life and his works. I got a collection of his novels and have been waiting for the right time to read it. Well, now is the right time – it is Henry Green week🙂 Looking forward to reading your posts and the posts of other participants and participating in the discussions.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 22:27:55

      Thanks Vishy I think time is right to have a Green week as I say he is drifting out limelight I am interest in his life as he seems to have been round the bright young things and then his war time experiences ‘some of his books very pricey to get hold of now ,all the best stu

      Reply

  6. Ruthiella
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 02:04:23

    I don’t blog, but I did read Loving for Henry Green Week and I found it to be very intruiguing. You are right, Green’s books are hard to come by. My library only has “Loving”, but I can get a nice little omnibus by Penguin with Loving, Living and Party either through ILL or maybe I will just purchase it. Because I would like to read more. I look forward to reading all the reviews, but those who read Loving so I can compare their thoughts to mine. Thanks for making this happen Stu.

    Reply

  7. Anbolyn
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 04:29:11

    I’m reading Loving at the moment and really enjoy Green’s unique style and phrasing. Thanks for hosting HG Week as I probably wouldn’t have dug my copy of Loving out of storage otherwise. I can’t wait to read all the reviews!

    Reply

  8. Geosi
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 07:52:58

    Great hosting this one because you have brought this author to my notice. Thanks.

    Reply

  9. Sarah
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 09:02:26

    Thanks from me, too. I’m reading Caught and his style unusual and absorbing. A really worthwhile read and I am glad you brought him to my attention.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Henry Green: Party Going (1939) « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat
  11. Max Cairnduff
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 16:50:54

    Hurrah! Henry Green week. Allow me to add to the chorus of thanks Stu.

    Reply

  12. Rose City Reader
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 18:02:45

    Yes, thank you Stu for hosting. I’ve started Living, which I posted about here: http://www.rosecityreader.com/2012/01/opening-sentence-living.html

    Reply

  13. David H
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 01:05:47

    Thanks for introducing me to Henry Green through this week, Stu. I’ve done a review of Loving here.

    Reply

  14. mel u
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 05:19:12

    I just posted on Back-Green’s brilliant novel about a Bristish soldier repatriated during WWII back to England from a German prisoner of war camp and his efforts to cope with life in England during WWII.

    Stu-thanks for hosting this event on a writer too neglected by far

    here is a link to my post

    http://rereadinglives.blogspot.com/2012/01/back-by-henry-green.html

    Reply

  15. Harriet
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 08:52:18

    This was such a brilliant idea — thanks so much.Here is my review of Living: http://harrietdevine.typepad.com/harriet_devines_blog/2012/01/living-for-henry-green-weekend.html

    Reply

  16. Trackback: Antonio Tabucchi Week September 17 – 23 2012 and Giveaway « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat
  17. Trackback: Welcome 2016 reading resolutions and Euro 2016 | Winstonsdad's Blog

Leave a Reply

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
