Woman of the dead by Bernhard Aichner

Woman of the dead by Bernhard Aichner

Austrian fiction

Original title Totenfrau

Translator – Anthea Bell

Source – library

Just remember that death is not the end
For the tree of life is growing
Where the spirit never dies
And the bright light of salvation
Up in dark and empty skies
When the cities are on fire
With the burning flesh of men
Just remember that death is not the end
When you search in vain to find
Some law-abiding citizen
Just remember that death is not the end
Not the end, not the end
Just remember that death is not the end
Not the end, not the end
Just remember that death is not the end

I choose the end of death is not the end a Dylan song Mark’s death was not the end of this story .

I tossed and turned where to start my german lit month reviews and I choose this as I don’t really read a lot of thrillers so when I read one and enjoy it, I feel it must be a good book also it was translated by one of the greatest living German translators Anthea Bell. Bernhard Aichner started out as a photographer working for an Austrian paper and at the same time in his spare time starting to write short stories.He has written a number of novels this is the first of two books in this series and was published in 2014 where it was a bestseller both in his native Austria and German.

Eight years ago, they touched each other for the first time. He put his arms around her on the boat. He was wonderful man, right from the very first moment when he was there, taking care of her. Mark waited with her until the coastguard arrived, until she had answered hundreds of questions. He simply stayed by her side. Talking to the police officers on the case

Blum meet mark after her own incident eight years earlier .

This is the story of Blum she is a woman that at very start of the book has it all Marriage , children, yes she has a dark humor and rides a bike but on the surface everything seems ok. But then her lover Mark a policeman is killed in a hit and run . This starts a chain reaaction that sets her on a course to get revenge on the men that killed her lover .Blum isn’t what she first seems no she has a very dark past that this one event has unlocked so she starts out to get the five people she finds had wanted her lover Mark gone to find out what happened  and seek her own personnel revenge on them .

Blum looks around the room, at his computer, his files, and a thousand other things lying just as he left them twenty-two days ago when he rode off. Everything here is waiting for him to come back; objects that want to be touched, tools that want to be used .

Blum goes to marks work place after he is found dead .

Well it’s hard to not think kill bill when you read what I wrote about this book.It is even mention in the inside cover yes Blum is rather like the Bride or even Lisbeth whom  also mentioned . This book had a cinematic thriller pace to it, you get the fact the Aichner is a photographer in the way he writes his scenes they a clean like the way a great photograph works looking simple and telling you all that is possible with in a small space of one shot. Blum is the original revenge killer a woman wioth her own hidden past that takes a death to relight. I liked the die  welt description of her taking these five rotten apples and squashing them under her feet , yes she is pruning the world and  like with a flower when they are rotting you have to dead head them.As I said I am not a huge Crime thriller reader so when I find one I like I note the writer down Bernhard Aichner is a writer I will be trying again .

Have you a favourite German crime/thriller writer ?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Nov 01, 2015 @ 17:51:33

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book – but then I am biased towards Austrian writers…
    I’ve just finished reading Suspicion by Friedrich Durrenmatt – also a sort of thriller, although it feels much more like one of his plays.

    Reply

  2. 1streading
    Nov 01, 2015 @ 19:04:35

    I do like a thriller now and again and will bear this in mind. I also have a another Durrenmatt lined up for German Lit Month.

    Reply

  3. Mytwostotinki
    Nov 01, 2015 @ 20:22:45

    Haven’t read Aichner yet but sooner or later I will since the reviews are so enthusiastic. German-language crime/thriller writers I like: Friedrich Glauser, Ingrid Noll, Jakob Arjouni, Ulf Miehe, Friedrich Ani, Durrenmatt – and Fauser of course. I have heard also good things about Volker Kutscher and Andrea Maria Schenkel but haven’t read them yet.

    Reply

  4. Caroline
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 16:33:40

    I’m really keen on reading this now. I love what you write about being able to sense he’s a photographer.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: German Literature Month V: Author Index | Lizzy's Literary Life

Leave a comment

October 2015
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives