Spanish Lit month

Well I’m late announcing my Spanish Lit month announcement . Richard announced a few days ago we are doing it again this July for the third time . WE have choosen a short book as the group read . The invention of morel by Adolfo Bioy Casares a book by the great friend of Jorge Luis Borges .

20150625_181506

Well I ve chosen to reuse my first post for spanish lit month for this intro again  I’m excited to see what books every one has chosen but if your still struggling for a book to read for Spanish language lit month ,I ve a few tips here to help my co host richard has done two posts of book lists .the first has 200 books that have been picked on various lists  the second had a further list of 100 plus books from classic to the modern age from spain and latin america .

Right another great port of call is the complete review Michael the guy behind complete review has many more reviews of spanish fiction here  and Latin american fiction here .Mostly modern but it has best selection of Latin american fiction I ve seen .

The site for new Spanish books available to be translated is a great site to see what is happening in Spanish .Nick Caistor and Stefan Tobler advise on here two  people I know are trustworthy .

Then I ll give you five to read from my blog

1.Don Quixote –

This is the head water of all modern european fiction we may think use in the english speaking world got the ball rolling on the novel no its  this book has it all ,meta fiction ,playful story lines ,History and oh the mad don and his faithful friend .2015 I will maybe reread this next spanish lit month in 2016 as that may be the time Terry Gillam has his film of it out or nearer being made .

2 Three trapped tiger G Cabrera Infante

The cuban Ulysses the call it but actually it is very different it has a very cuban feel you can feel a jazz beat as your read about a day in Havana just before the revolution . 2015 A lost classic this one .I have another by him on the blog both worth trying .

3 I the supreme by Augusto Roa Bastos

Another classic of latin american fiction ,the story of a 19th century dictator in latin america echos of the present in the past image ,controlling the media and writing your own history still go on in the present day .2015  One that everyone interested in the dictator fiction

4 Kamchatka by Marcelo Figueras

One of my favourite books of recent years ,the dirty war seen through a young boys eyes .It is touching and entertaining  and with a believable child narrator .2015 still a hidden gem !

5 Exiled from almost everywhere by Juan Goytisolo

He is the wonderful master of spanish fiction I ve read a few but this only one since I ve blog a wonderfully wacky tale that maybe needs a wider audience  . As does Juan he may win the Nobel one day soon and if you’ve not read him you’ll kick your self .2015 more exile tales to come this year from the same writer .

Oh and needless to say Borges is a must read anything by him is going make your reading life a little brighter .

Back to 2015

Again I must start my Borges project , I have read a second Goytisolo for this year already the first of his best known  trilogy marks of identity .I have Desire for chocolate by Care Santos a prize winning Spanish novel due out in August . Also a couple of books about the Peron years in Argentina .

What books may you read next month .

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jun 25, 2015 @ 20:40:10

    I’m so rubbish at challenges, but I may try to join in with this – I have the complete Borges on my shelves for a start! :))

    Reply

  2. 1streading
    Jun 25, 2015 @ 21:21:33

    Looking forward to it – I’ve recently read Morel but I plan to fit in another Casares. Otherwise I’ll be largely trying to avoid reading anything originally in Portuguese by accident!

    Reply

  3. Tony
    Jun 25, 2015 @ 21:40:53

    I’ve got my five books lined up, one for each #TranslationThurs in July, but I’ll let you all know closer to the date 😉

    Reply

  4. Frances Evangelista (@nonsuchbook)
    Jun 26, 2015 @ 00:10:50

    I’m in for The Invention of Morel and two Javier Marias titles. We will see if there is time for more.

    Reply

  5. Richard
    Jun 26, 2015 @ 00:39:46

    So many great choices, eh, Stu? Thanks for hosting this again and for listing all these resources in one convenient place.

    Reply

  6. amanda
    Jun 26, 2015 @ 00:49:52

    I´m looking forward to this! I´m planning to definitely read Love in the Time of Cholera and maybe (time permitting) The Book of Imaginary Beings.

    Reply

  7. Amateur Reader (Tom)
    Jun 26, 2015 @ 03:21:18

    I first thought I would have to sit this out, but I can slip in a Lope de Vega play at least – Fuenteovejuna – and maybe a something by Calderón de la Barca, too. Why not.

    I wish I had the complete Borges on my shelf. I wish my Spanish was good enough to read it,

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Transcontinental love | Book Around The Corner
  9. Emma
    Jul 04, 2015 @ 13:03:12

    I’m in too.
    Here’s my billet about Tarzan’s Tonsillitis by Alfredo Bryce-Echenique.
    https://bookaroundthecorner.wordpress.com/2015/07/04/transcontinental-love/

    Reply

  10. mee
    Jul 04, 2015 @ 17:31:32

    I’d definitely like to join you guys for the group read of The invention of Morel in July. Look forward to all your reviews.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: The Adventures of a Photographer in La Plata | 1streading's Blog
  12. Trackback: Days of Combat by Paco Ignacio Taibo II | Book Around The Corner
  13. Maria Behar
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 16:29:14

    I’ve just joined this event. Very late, I know, but then, I’ve just found out about it. I published my announcement post on my blog, MindSpirit Book Journeys, last Saturday.

    I will be reading “La Isla de los Amores Infinitos”, by Cuban author Daina Chaviano. The title in English is “The Island of Eternal Love”. This novel is in the magic realism tradition.

    I’m really looking forward to reading all of your reviews!

    Reply

  14. Trackback: My Year in Reading for 2015 | Dolce Bellezza
  15. Trackback: The Invention of Morel by Adolfo Bioy Casares (tr. Ruth L.C. Simms) | JacquiWine's Journal

Leave a comment

June 2015
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives