Books to watch out for in 2011 .

Well here are a few books out next year that have caught my Eye for next year .

Peirene Numbers 4,5 and 6 – earlier in the year in an interview on winstonsdad Meike mentioned these titles and her descriptions of their year of men titles are much better than mine .I’m looking forward to these as the first three titles have all been of such a wonderful high standard .

Paris metro tales -another in the OUP collection of city tales ,translated and selected by Helen Constantine ,stories in and set round the Paris Metro due out March 2011 .

Never any end to Paris by Enrique Vila -Matas – maybe the perfect companion to the metro tale a novel set in Paris involving the writers of the nouveau Roman movement .The writer is described as the greatest ;living Spanish writer by Bernardo Axtaga and that is he praise this is due out on new directions May next year .

Tyrant Memory by Horacio Castellanos Moya –A novel following a tyrant in El Salvador in the thirties the action takes place in a month between a coup and a strike .Moya was described by Bolano as the only writer of my generation who knows how to narrate the horrors ,the secret Vietnam that was latin american was for a long time .out in May on New directions ,

Love virtually by Daniel Glattauer –Now a german friend told me about this a while ago a very inventive german novel .A love affair told in E-mails ,but will it survive in real life when they meet ? out feb on Machlehose press .

Trieste by Dasa Drndic -A Croatian novel about a mother being reunited with her son that was stolen by the germans sixty years earlier this is meant to be a touching novel .out in april on Machlehose press .

As though she were sleeping by Elias Khoury –I read Yalo by Khoury earlier this year ,this book is different set in the 30’s in Beirut should be wonderful has a arabic poetic edge to it by a wonderfully talented writer ,this is out may 2011 by Machlehose press .

SPLITHEAD BY Juyla Rabinowitz –a German coming of age story about a seven-year old girl who grew up in russia and then came to the freedom of Vienna .a vibrant new voice in german writing .out in february from Portobello books .

Lovetown by Michal Witkowski – growing up queer in Poland under communism ,a book set in the 70’s and 80’s then in modern Poland .Out april on Portobello books

Gargling with tar by Jachym Topol – A book set in the aftermath of the invasion of 1968 .This book caught ny eye when I first heard about it .out in June by Portobello books .

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 09:09:42

    Books I would like to read, if my challenges, time and accessibility permits.

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:37:12

    Wow, what an cool set of books. I was aiming a little different for next year. Once I finish reviewing all the ARC’s I have, I want to read several romance where the men are wearing kilts, and then read a couple of fantasy novels and finally, to find more written by Canadian First Nations Authors (not in that order specifically).

    Reply

  3. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:50:43

    I can’t believe I forgot about Peirene Numbers 4,5 and 6 when I compiled my list! I am really looking forward to seeing which books they have selected. The others look good too – especially Trieste 🙂

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 19:00:32

      yes Trieste looks wonderful meant to be hugely successful in europe ,I think I ll enjoy the year of men Peirene more than this year and find that hard to believe ,all the best stu

      Reply

  4. simon
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 16:20:45

    Some great books to look out for on that list stu. Thanks for compiling that.

    Reply

  5. Ingrid
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 19:22:39

    Oooh, Paris Metro Tales looks interesting. I have a love/hate relationship with the Paris Metro.

    Reply

  6. amymckie
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 21:22:40

    Great collection of books – myself I’m looking forward to the Peirene titles 🙂

    Reply

  7. bythefirelight
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 01:48:27

    Tyrant Memory is a good book, but different than those such as Senselessness which are more manic. I found many parts of it funny. I’m looking forward to see what it reads like in English.

    Reply

  8. Kinna
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 10:30:08

    A nice set of books to look forward to. I have an earlier book by Topol on my shelves. And I’m yet to read anything by Moya. Thanks for the list, Stu.

    Reply

Leave a comment

December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives