Italian reading challenge

My friend dan on twitter  gave me the eyes up on this challenge by book after book blog .Its a year long Italian reading challenge .The Challenge is to read 12 books over 2011 set in Italy or by Italian writers .I m going to do the later have a number of books lined up for January for a week of Italian reading .Want try and read 12 different writers from Italy over next year . to find out more look here

So I ve Calvino ,Eco ,Maurnsig ,Buzzati ,Sciascia and want to finally get to the collectiive writing project Luther Blisset and the novel Q which I got halfway through years ago but had to give book back to a friend .

WHATS YOUR FAVOURITE ITALIAN NOVEL ?


22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Silvia
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 11:52:57

    Hello! Please don’t forget to register here as well: http://bit.ly/h8M4Hm

    Reply

  2. Ingrid
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 17:34:39

    How about The Betrothed by Manzoni?

    Reply

  3. Parrish
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 22:16:01

    great fan of Calvino, not read the others so may check this out.
    best of.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2010 @ 22:37:44

      Yes buzzati worth trying loved his graphic novel ,his most famous novel tartar steppes which is what I m planning to read seems so different to the other book ,all the best stu

      Reply

  4. Richard
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 04:08:34

    Looking forward to your reviews, Stu, although I’d definitely appreciate the challenge more if it were all Italian writers (as you’re planning on doing) rather than also containing books only “set in Italy.” I’m not familiar with the third author you mention, but all the rest are or sound great. P.S. Happy holidays to you and your family–off to listen to Wire’s Pink Flag, which I “self-gifted” to myself earlier today after never owning it somehow for all these years!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 25, 2010 @ 21:51:28

      oh pink flag been on my to get list ,think always albums that pass by and wish I had ,happy christmas richard hope you had a good day ,all the best stu

      Reply

  5. Tom Cunliffe
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 08:54:01

    Good luck with the challenge. For me, it would have to be The Leopard by di Lampedusa.

    Reply

  6. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 12:18:39

    Bon voyage (or)… enjoy your reading journey…

    Reply

  7. gaskella
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 18:05:14

    One of the best set in Italy books I read, although written by a Brit, was ‘Saving Caravaggio’ by Neil Griffiths about an art cop on the trail of an unknown Caravaggio painting. I have a Sciascia (Day of the Owl) on my bedside pile for reading soon, and ‘That awful mess on the via Merulana’ by Carlo Emilio Gadda to read too. I love Italian crime fic – Camilleri’s Montalbano books are great fun too.

    Reply

  8. Caroline
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 13:20:46

    My favourite Italian writers are Bassani, Tabucchi and Pavese. I recently reviewed Niccolò Ammanti, great as well. I’m organizing a Literature and War read along and chose two Italian writers for it, Primo Levi and Elsa Morante, maybe you would like to join too? I’ll post the list on Monday.

    Reply

  9. Emily Jane
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 18:37:06

    Hmm, I haven’t read much Italian lit so I don’t have any recommendations, but I look forward to seeing what you read!

    Reply

  10. Kevin Faulkner
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 01:14:04

    Most definitely NOT ‘The Betrothed’ by Manzoni, perhaps the dullest of all Italian writing. Up there must be Lampedusa’s ‘The Leopard’ Eco’s ‘The name of the Rose, Calvino’s ‘If on a Winter’s Night, Boccaccio’s ‘Decameron’ and Carlo Collodi’s ‘Pinocchio’ for starters.

    Reply

  11. Kinna
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 06:52:45

    My favorite Italian authors are Calvino and di Lampdusa. I also recommend The Plague Sower by Bufalino. I would love to join you for this challenge. I’m not sure I can read 12 books, 3 or 4 is more doable for me. Thanks Stu.

    Reply

  12. chasing bawa
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 20:23:50

    I used to read a lot of Italian crime fiction (or set in Italy but written by English authors) which I loved. What a great challenge. Enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a comment

December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives