Welcome to spanish lit month 2020

It has come round again this ishas been running since 2012 which actually I had chosen Enrique vila matas as a featured writer so it seems nice to return to him and also Javier Marias. Then in August we have Three trapped tigers by Guillermo Cabrera Infante. and recounting by Luis Goytisolo.

Here is a collection of links  to do with Spanish lit

I promised a few links for Spanish lit month –

El Mundo the best 25 books from Spanish 1989 (thanks Arcadia books for link their Blind sunflowers is on the List ,plus two books by Juan Marse that Maclehose is publishing soon .

Scauffi has a longer list here in Spanish a lot of Marquez on this one

The telegraph has ten best Latin American novels here,Not all Spanish but mostly

Flavourwire has another list without  Marquez of best Latin American fiction

and there is a few more links and lots of Spanish fiction on my co-host Richards Blog

You can also find many books here from Spain ,Chile ,Argentina and many others in my books read section.

Look forward to seeing what you choose !!

 

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hopewellslibraryoflife
    Jul 01, 2020 @ 18:04:20

    While searching for something to read for this I found this short story https://www.theguardian.com/books/2011/apr/01/survivor-sonia-hernandez-short-story

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Who Among Us? by Mario Benedetti (1953, tr. Nick Caistor, 2019) | JacquiWine's Journal
  3. Lisa Hill
    Jul 02, 2020 @ 08:07:56

    I’m going to read something by Javier Marais as soon as Indigenous Lit Week (8-15 July) is finished on my blog!

    Reply

  4. J. C. Greenway
    Jul 02, 2020 @ 08:33:52

    Would love to join in, I have The Island by Ana Maria Matute waiting to be read…

    Reply

  5. Desirée B. Silvage
    Jul 02, 2020 @ 12:39:25

    You have made a good choice, they are both very good writers!

    Reply

  6. Bellezza
    Jul 02, 2020 @ 18:38:19

    I will do my best to come up with something for this wonderful challenge, Stu. I must say, I fancy a little Jose Saramago right now and will probably pick up The Cave. Thanks for hosting again, as always.

    Reply

  7. heavenali
    Jul 02, 2020 @ 19:23:36

    I have just read The Adventures of China Iron by Gabriela Cabezón Cámara. My review comes out on the blog tomorrow. I also have Hurricane Season and The Fallen from Fitzcarraldo books tbr, can’t remember the authors but I believe one is Mexican and one is Cuban.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Spanish Literature Month – Hopewell's Public Library of Life
  9. Trackback: Spanish Lit Month: July will be José Saramago for me | Dolce Bellezza
  10. Bellezza
    Jul 03, 2020 @ 19:33:39

    Oh dear, Stu…I seem to have made a huge faux pas. I chose Saramago, who is Portuguese, not Spanish, and therefore would not qualify. Right?

    Reply

  11. Janakay | YouMightAsWellRead
    Jul 04, 2020 @ 01:10:02

    I’ve just spent a very enjoyable hour or so looking at various Spanish language writers, some on your list and some not/ I’ve had María Gainza’s Optic Nerve on my own TBR list for some time now and this seems like the perfect occasion to get around to it; on the other hand, Samanta Schweblin’s Fever Dream looks very interesting! Decisions, decisions . . .

    Reply

  12. Emma
    Jul 04, 2020 @ 07:05:06

    Vishy and I will read Nada along.
    Thanks for organizing this event again this year.

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Oh, stag of mine, darling stag, my one and only – the [blank] garden
  14. Trackback: Spanish Lit Month - Bookgirl's Nightstand
  15. Trackback: Liliana Colanzi: Our Dead World – findingtimetowrite
  16. iliana
    Jul 10, 2020 @ 00:50:51

    Thank you for hosting and for the links you shared. I hope I can at least get one book in for this reading event.

    Reply

  17. Trackback: 20 Books of Summer #5-6 – Aymé and Larkin – Annabookbel
  18. Liz Dexter
    Jul 18, 2020 @ 18:56:37

    Coming to this a bit late, having seen Ali was doing it – is it permissible to read a very easy book in Spanish for young children … I’ve been learning Spanish from an app for 479 days and I’m just about ready for my first book … ?

    Reply

  19. Trackback: Book review – John Sutherland (ed.) – “Literary Landscapes” #20BooksOfSummer20 + #bookconfessions | Adventures in reading, running and working from home
  20. Trackback: 20 Books of Summer #11-12 – de Hériz & Aboulela – Annabookbel
  21. Trackback: Coming up in August – Women, Spain and Viragos! #WITMonth #AllViragoAllAugust #SpanishLitMonth | Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings
  22. Trackback: 20 Books of Summer #7 : Nada by Carmen Laforêt – Twelve months in the life of a young woman | Book Around the Corner
  23. Trackback: Book review – Jon Bloomfield – “Our City” #20BooksOfSummer20 #SpanishLitMonth | Adventures in reading, running and working from home
  24. Liz Dexter
    Jul 31, 2020 @ 08:08:08

    Done! I’ve read a book in Spanish all the way through and talk about it in this blog post: https://librofulltime.wordpress.com/2020/07/31/book-review-jon-bloomfield-our-city/

    Reply

  25. Trackback: July Miscellany
  26. Trackback: Spanish Lit Month Review: This Too Shall Pass by Milena Busquets – Hopewell's Public Library of Life
  27. Trackback: Spanish Lit Month: Andrés Neuman’s Talking to Ourselves – "You Might as Well Read"
  28. Trackback: Would they really spend their lives watching the street from inside their portraits? – the [blank] garden
  29. Amateur Reader (Tom)
    Aug 24, 2020 @ 22:05:57

    A glance, if that, at Miguel Hernández and Pablo Neruda and the Spanish Civil War, newly posted. Not much, but something.

    Thanks, as usual, for running this event.

    Reply

  30. Trackback: The Wind That Lays Waste / Dead Girls – Selva Almada – Lizzy's Literary Life
  31. Trackback: Summer Reading Wrap-up | 2020 – the [blank] garden
  32. Trackback: That is solemn we have ended, – the [blank] garden
  33. Trackback: The Year in Reading: 2020 Wrap Up – Dolce Bellezza
  34. Trackback: My 20 Books of Summer ’21!

Leave a comment

July 2020
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives