That was the months that was May/June 2020

  1. The sad part was by Prabda Yoon
  2. The brother by Rein Raud
  3. Restless by Kenneth Moe
  4. Mr Palomar by Italo Calvino
  5. The hour between dog and wold by Silke Scheuermann
  6. The End and again by Dino Bauk
  7. I remember by Georges Perec
  8. Obscurity by Philippe Jacottet
  9. Tazmamart by Aziz Binebine
  10. Grove by Esther Kinsky
  11. A House in Norway by Vigdis Hjorth
  12. M train by Patti Smith
  13. A long way off by Pascal Garnier
  14. Fate by Jorge Consiglio

 

I read 13 books in the last two months which saw me go from Thailand and a tale of modern Bangkok to Estonia and a revenge story. Then in Norway, a man tries to write a letter to a former love then Italy and an Italian man view the world in various ways. then sisters get to know each other than a former band from Slovenia. Then Perec from France finds a list of things he remembered. That leads on to a philosopher returning to see what has happened to his former master. Then a former Prisoner in Morroco in a top-secret prison. A widow goes to Italy and observes village life. A woman let her small apartment in Norway and then regrets it. Patti Smith talks about her life and then I read the last book published in his life by Pascal Garnier a regular on here. Then I finished in Argentina. I have visited 11 countries this last two months and passed a 1000 reviews.

Book of the month

Grove really touched me I have recently been struggling wife grief over my mums passing it was her birthday in June and the last three years since her passing have flown. I connected with the loss in this book but also the trying. to connect to place the Kinsky does so well.

Non-book things-

Well, I have listened a lot to the New Dylan Album. We have ventured a bit further than recent weeks to the peaks just parking and looking at views which given how little we have ventured out recently with all the Covoid thing.

next month-

Well its Spanish lit month that will be the main focus for July and then August. I will be starting with a leftfield choice!! what are your plans ?

June 2020
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives