Woman in translation reviews from Sept 15 to July 16

I will quickly wrap up all the reviews in the year since the last Woman in translation month.

2015

20150824_192726

Voices from Chernobyl  by Svetlana Alexievich – Her work on the characters and effect of the disaster on all effected.

The woman who fed the dogs by Kristein Hemmerechts The wife of Belgium’s most notorious murder is told.

The defenceless by kati Hiekkapelto Finnish crime novel link to the immigrant girls .

She is not me by Golnaz Hashemzadeh A young womans journey to adulthood as she struggles to be a swede from Iraq

Coup de Grace by Marguerite Yourcenar A novel set during russian civil wart a love triangle of sorts

Memory at bay by Evelyne Trouillot  Two people from Haiti In a Paris hospital from both sides of the Papa doc regeime

Gone to ground by Marie Jalowicz Simon One womans survival as a Jews In wartime Berlin

Decompression by Juli Zeh A love triangle on a hoilday Island

The other woman by Therese Bohman The other woman tells her story a doctor falls for a staff member at the hospital.

2016

wp-1451988344895.jpg

The decision by Britta Bohler – Thomas Mann decides to call the Nazis as he decides to publish a piece against them.

Mend the living by Mayliss De Kerangal A day in the life of a human heart and the two people it touches

Hah BY Birgul Oguz a collection of Turkish short stories

Ladivine by Marie Ndiaye Three woman’s lives connect by family

The story of the lost child by Elena Ferrante – The last part of the story sees the two friends older, but not together

The little communist that never smiled by Lola Lafon – The story in novel for off Nadia Comanecci apt for this Olympic year .

The body Where I was born by Guadalupe Nettel A tale of a girl with a sight problem growing up

The winterlings by Christina Sanchez-Andrade Two sisters return to the childhood home .

Well 17 books isn’t bad in what has been the poorest 12 months of blogging. This is my 1300 post on the blog it is nice it comes as I’ve  managed to post a few reviews this week.

What did you read in the last year by woman in Translation ?

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BookerTalk
    Aug 05, 2016 @ 22:54:50

    A short answer to you question is that I didn’t read that many female authors in translation in the last year. In fact, and I am ashamed to admit this, I think my total is just 2. Must do better in the next 12 months

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Aug 06, 2016 @ 01:26:08

    *chuckle* Well, Stu, it shows that you have nothing to prove regarding #WIT: you read ambitiously across gender and all kinds of diversity and you are a role model for everybody else!
    I’ve started using categories to track my reading, and they show that over time I have read 160 males in translation and 42 women. (An interesting comparison with the gender balance for my other reading which hovers around 45% female/55% male without me consciously trying to manipulate it). However, at least 22 of those translated males were my Zola project, and there were multiples of Hans Fallada and Ismail Kadare. I like to Read the Nobels too (e.g. there were three by Patrick Modiano) and they tend to be male, just like the IFFP nominees that I read with you on the Shadow Jury.
    Anyway, this year I have read The Notebook Trilogy by Ágota Kristóf, translated by Alan Sheridan; The Body Where I Was Born, by Guadalupe Nettel, translated by J.T. Lichtenstein; A Woman in the Polar Night, by Christiane Ritter, translated by Jane Degras; and From Now On Everything Will Be Different, by Eliza Vitri Handayani. And if I ever finish it, I’ll add Svetlana Alexeivich’s Secondhand Time to the list…

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Aug 06, 2016 @ 14:27:53

    A nice list of reading! I’ve read Russians of course – mainly Teffi – and Spanish language – Silvina Ocampo. And I’ve already managed a couple of German women this month!

    Reply

  4. A Little Blog of Books
    Aug 06, 2016 @ 20:02:38

    I haven’t read any women in translation since the MBIP longlist but I bought a copy of The Nakano Thrift Shop by Hiromi Kawakami today so I will be catching up soon!

    Reply

Leave a comment

August 2016
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives