German lit Month 2014

Well I ‘ve been slow in my German reading this year usually I’m on the ball as German lit is one of my favourite to read  ,but I’ve had so much arrive this last month I’ve just not got as many as I have read as I  other years ready but I have  five books read already so I ‘ve some read to get the ball rolling for 2014 .This year again we have a set of weeks to follow so I ‘ll try and squeeze my books into them , I ‘m just back after a week off blogging and have a lot of books to cover so my German lit month this year will be less than other years but here is what I have read –

The safety net by Heinrich Boll

The Glory of life by Michael Kumpfmuller

A price to pay by Alex Capus

Amok by Stefan Zweig

All quiet on the western front by Erich Maria Remarque

and am currently reading

IMG_2002

Raw Material by Jorg Fauser

The legend of the holy drinker by Joesph Roth

Now in reserve are these books

IMG_2003What have you read or are hoping to read this time round ?

 

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 18:41:27

    Nice selection of books Stu! I shall hopefully read Berlin Alexanderplatz – but you never know!

    Reply

  2. MarinaSofia
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 18:58:40

    Quite an ambitious long list – makes me feel better about mine…

    Reply

  3. Guy Savage
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 19:00:09

    All QOTWF is wonderful. I’ve got some Roth on my list for this month too.

    Reply

  4. 1streading
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 20:05:17

    I’m reading The Glory of Life at the moment. Started the month with F by Daniel Kehlmann. Got a few others lined up, but it will be finding the time to review them!

    Reply

  5. Richard
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 20:34:26

    I hope you get a chance to read The Radetzky March this month. That was one of my absolute favorite books read in all of last year. So, so great!

    Reply

  6. heavenali
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 21:28:43

    I may join in German lit month by reading Eric Maria Remarque’s A Time to love and a time to die, if I can slot it in.

    Reply

  7. Lisa Hill
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 21:46:24

    I’m reading a rather unusual non-fiction book, it’s called Post-war Lies, Germany and Hitler’s Long Shadow and it’s by Malte Herwig, and translated by Jamie Lee Searle and Shaun Whiteside. I don’t know what to make of it yet…

    Reply

  8. Judith
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 00:39:13

    I’m madly noting all the titles you’ve listed in this post, including the ones in the photograph. Fascinating! If only I didn’t have to work…
    Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)

    Reply

  9. Bellezza
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 01:00:28

    I have a Stefan Zweig to read as well, having begun German Lit Month with a novella by Thomas Mann. The German books I’ve read you could fit on the head of a pin, so there’s a lot for me to discover this month.

    Reply

  10. jacquiwine
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 09:28:37

    Great plans, Stu. I’ve read Transit by Anna Seghers, and I’ll be posting on it in a week or so. I’m also hoping to read a couple of others before the month is out. Looking forward to your reviews and comparing notes on All Quiet.

    Reply

  11. Mytwostotinki
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 09:50:19

    Excellent choice! I am extremely pleased you have the Fauser novel on your list – a book I like very much as you may know from my review.

    Reply

  12. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 10:04:55

    I’ve ordered All Quiet as its so rated by everyone and in this anniversary year of WW1 it seems a must read and then thanks to your recommendation Stu, I am planning also to read Raw Material when it comes out near the end of the month and maybe the Jenny Erpenbeck that’s waiting for me to try again. Looking forward to your favourites from your ambitious pile. Bonne Courage!

    Reply

  13. Caroline
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 16:41:08

    These are great choices. I have Fause high on my list of authors I should read again.

    Reply

  14. Anca Szilagyi
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 21:04:33

    Ooh, I’ve got the Alina Bronsky in my stack. Also Herta Muller’s Hunger Angel. Your mention of Heinrich Boll also brought me back a class I took on post-war German literature. After The Tin Drum, I think my favorite novel was Max Frisch’s Homo Faber.

    Reply

Leave a comment

November 2014
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives