Welcome to Pushkin press fortnight 2014

I would  like to welcome you all to the first  Pushkin press fortnight two weeks celebrating one of the true champions of fiction in translation in the Uk .For me they have brought a number of names to me as a reader , that I wouldn’t have read other wise ,the biggest of course is Stefan Zweig but also modern writer like Andres Neuman ,Peter Stephen Jungk and Pietro Grossi .

Some recent reviews from me are

Pushkin_JackMortimer

 

I was Jack mortimer by Alexander Lernet-Holenia – tense noir is fictrion ,as a man takes over a dead man’s identity .

parrots Flippo BolognaThe parrots by Flippo Bologna Italian wrioter compete for a to[ prize one is young one in the middle of his career and another considered a great writier near the end of his career .

traveller of the centuryTraveller of the century by Andres Neuman the wonderful book set in Europe a wonderful book on translation book shifting realities one of the best books of recent times also he has a new short story collection out soon .

This next two weeks I ll be reviewing two books from Stefan Zweig Amok and other stories and Journey into the past .The break by Pietro Grossi and Oliver VII by Antal Szerb all of which I have read I also have Butterflies in November by Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir and from the fatherland with love by Ryu Murakami to try and read .

Have you a favourite book from Pushkin press ?

 

 

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 00:26:03

    Rock Crystal by Adalbert Stifter – it’s sublime.

    Reply

  2. Guy Savage
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 00:58:33

    I can’t say that I have an absolute favourite as they have published so many quality novels. I just bought a handful of their titles and one of them may compete for the ‘top spot.’ Looking forward to your reviews

    Reply

  3. Lisa Hill
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 07:42:50

    I’ve got Amok to read too, Stu, will get back to you when my review is done:)

    Reply

  4. Jacqui (@jacquiwine)
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 07:43:21

    I absolutely loved Andres Neuman’s ‘Traveller of the Century’, probably my favourite of all the books I read last year. I’ve bought his new one (Talking to Ourselves) so I’ll aim to read it over the next fortnight. I’ve a few other Pushkins on the tbr pile, including ‘I was Jack Mortimer’ and a couple by Antal Szerb, so plenty to keep me going there.

    Reply

  5. Maryom
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 08:53:24

    Time to go out on a limb and say I couldn’t get on with Traveller of the Century at all. Hubby choose it, read about 50 pages and ground to a halt. I picked it up, got about half way through and decided it wasn’t worth carrying on. Anybody like to persuade me to persevere?

    Reply

  6. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 10:39:19

    I loved the Zweigs I’ve read best!

    Reply

  7. Tony
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 12:08:03

    I’ve just got to reread the new Neuman, and then I’ll be posting a review – hopefully, before the end of your fortnight 🙂

    Reply

  8. gaskella
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 17:04:32

    I’ve not read Szerb- but I do have the Pendragon Legend and Oliver VII on my shelves! Don’t know which to read…

    Reply

  9. Trackback: From Fact to Fiction: Franz Anton Mesmer to the German Romantics | Lizzy's Literary Life
  10. Trackback: Traveller of the Century by Andrés Neuman – Farm Lane Books Blog
  11. Trackback: Pushkin Press: The Rabbit Back Literature Society | Follow the Thread
  12. Trackback: John Buchan meets Umberto Eco via Dan Brown | Annabel's House of Books
  13. Martha
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 18:19:40

    Just got The Rabbit Back Literature Society looking forward to it after reading the reviews

    Reply

  14. Gesche
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 13:02:53

    If you’re new to Szerb, I 100% recommend his short stories. Here are a couple of links to free ones online: ‘A Dog Called Madelon’ at http://pushkinpress.com/?p=3493 and ‘The Incurable’ at http://recommendedreading.tumblr.com/post/52213924426/pushkin-press-recommends-the-incurable-by-antal-szerb

    Reply

  15. Trackback: Amok and Other Stories, by Stefan Zweig, translated by Anthea Bell | ANZ LitLovers LitBlog
  16. Trackback: Pushkin Press Fortnight: The Pendragon Legend by Antal Szerb | Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings
  17. Trackback: Pushkin Press fortnight MK2 Feb 13-28 2017 | Winstonsdad's Blog

Leave a comment

February 2014
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Archives