Best of the world under 40 in English translation

Best writers under 40 2013 list

~(not British but from round the world )

Well as one would expect the chance of the best of British under forty list coming out today from Granta in the new magazine has been eagerly awaited and discussed .So I decide I try to do a list of writers from round the world that have been published or shortly due to be published in English.This is actually quite a task ,because usually you have to be a acclaimed or won a prize to catch the eye of a editor commissioning  translations ,this means the writers I consider newish to use in english say Santiago Gamboa ,Christoph Simon or Mickhail Shishkin all fall out side the under forty classification .But in the end I have found some wonderful writers from round the world myself and a few suggested by Tony as well .

Winstonsdad rest of the world best writer under 40

faces in the crowd

Valeria Luiselli

reviewed he début in English Faces in the crowd and have read a follow-up collection of non fiction pieces sidewalks ,she is my new writer crush for sure she loves wandering round like myself .She is definitely one to watch .An interview with her 

traveller of the century

Andres Neuman

well short-listed for both  the IFFP and BTBA this year with this novel .Is one thing but the other he is actually considered a great short story writer as well ,we have a lot to come from Andres here is my review and Gary’s interview with him.

pron

Patrico Pron

I first mention Pron when he was one of the writers and other stories was working with in the first year .but he was taken up by Faber who are publishing his first novel in English later this year -“my fathers ghost is climbing in the rain “a writer returns home as  his father is dying .here is a piece he wrote for paris review .

7ways

 

Matias Nespolo

He is a another talented Argentinian writer ,his book Seven ways to kill a cat was translated by the wonderful Frank Wynne .Here is a piece from Granta about him 

Daniel Kehlmann measuring the world

Daniel Kehlman

Now this is one that shocked me I have yet to read him but his books been on my radar for a good while and shocked he was eligible ,here is a piece he wrote praising  his translator Carol brown Janeway .

how the soldier repairs the gramophone

Sasa Stansic

Is one of the new breed of German writer to have come to Germany from Eastern Europe in his case Bosnia and start writing in German .Both Rob and Lisa loved this book ,Here is an interview with him from rumpus

Juli Zeh dark matter

Juli Zeh

Juli is another German writer I had on my radar for a while she is among a group of talented female German writers Judith Herrmann and Jenny erphenbeck being other they both just fell outside the under 40 ,here is a review and interview with her tanslator  from Lizzie

Helene-Hegemann

Helene Hegemann

Now this is a controversial choice as by this piece in the new york times shows  ,I did like the book it has a strange arc and is quite unique and she is so young here is my review of Axoltl roadkill.

HATE A ROMANCE

Tristan Garcia

I think we all admired the style and subject of  hate a romance on last year IFFP prize ,Tristan is not just a writer but also a philosopher as this piece shows and here is a review of hate from my blog .

hhhh laurent binet

Laurent Binet

Well he missed our IFFP shortlist but this début from him HHhH has set people talking about what makes a novel and also set many heads turning with its stunning cover .here is my review and interview from the new statesman

beauty and the inferno

Roberto Saviano

Yes he is under 40  ,I know Gomorrah his debut has been round for quite a long time ,the best non fiction writer from Italy at the moment here is my review of beauty and the inferno from last year ,and an interview from huff post .

superman is an arab

Joumana Hadda

A lebanese poet and writer I first read about online via arablit via this profile  I think ,but n=known for poems and essays on the arab experience I hope to review her soon rather than later .oh and she is just over 40 but want to add a female arabic writer .

Dreams from the endz.326x500

Faiza Guene

Another young writer of French Algerian origin she has had two books translated so far to English ,I hope to read her later this year as she has been on wishlist for a good while .she writes about growing up poor in paris her is a piece from the guardian about her 

the tobacco keeper

Ali Bader

Another writer I had on radar since I read a piece on the wonderful Arab lit again(if you’re not following this blog you are missing the chance to find the Arab lit world opened up ).two of his books have been translated in to English .The last was published in 2011 .

risa wataya

Risa Watya

IS a female Japanese writer ,she has women the Kenzaburo Oe prize with her most recent book isn’t it a pity ,which will be coming to us in English soon .I ll thank Tony for this one I not to sure but a nice piece from the official j lit site her about her 

auto fiction

Hitomi Kanehera

A high school drop out  from Japan published her first book age 21 ,best known for Autofiction which I have had from library but never got to ,this is another from Tony .a profile from a few years ago that isn’t behind paywall of ny times .

The-White-Trail

FFlur Dafydd

A Welsh language writer and singer ,she is best known for a piece for the Seren collection of tales from Mabinogion series from the famous Welsh myth  her is a profile of her from Seren .Thanks again to Tony for this one .

Well there you go I given you a few alternatives from Wales to Japan ,from Algeria to Argentina also I link to three list .

Granta spanish writers list 

Granta best brazilian link

Beirut 39

Though some of these writers haven’t had a full novel published in English it is worth noting them for the future .

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 13:49:18

    Great stuff Stu – you always feature writers I don’t know which is great!

    Reply

  2. parrish lantern
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 14:27:31

    Hitomi Kanehara & Julie Zeh both great writers, loved Dark Matters & have read & posted on Autofiction & have sat on my shelf Snakes & Earings. Also loved Andres Neuman’s book & he’s a wonderful interviewee, also loved Hate a Romance, so all in all a great list.
    PS have two books by Roberto Saviano, which I’ve yet to read (note to self make more time).

    Reply

  3. Guy Savage
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 14:56:32

    I read Daniel Kehlmann’s novel FAME a few years ago and really liked it, so I’ll have to check out this latest one.

    Reply

  4. afictionhabit
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 15:38:23

    Great list Stu – thanks for putting it together. I’ve wanted to read that Kehlmann ever since it came out a few years ago. Fab other suggestions for my notebook too! Sarah

    Reply

  5. Lynne
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 15:46:04

    Thank you, Stu, for continuing to add to my reading world. This is a great list.

    Reply

  6. Brian Joseph
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 17:44:43

    Thanks for the list. All look tempting to read. In particular “Dark Matter” looks to be something that I would like to try. It looks to be right up my ally.

    Reply

  7. amanda
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 18:45:52

    Great idea for this list, Stu. It reminds me that I still haven’t gotten around to reading any Saviano. I’m adding him to my list right now so I can’t forget again!

    Reply

  8. Emma
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 19:19:45

    Thanks for this. I’ve only read Fame by Kehlman and really liked it. I’ll have to try some of the others too.
    Personally I find it sad that such a young writer has Binet didn’t find another topic than WWII. It’s kind of a put off for me.

    Reply

  9. whisperinggums
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 22:59:57

    Great list Stu … I’ve only read the Luiselli which I enjoyed. I have an early Kanehara on my TBR … But I love the sound of some of the others. Love the titles of some too … They’d almost get me in on that sometimes!

    Reply

  10. Tony
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 08:44:19

    Great idea – a welcome alternative to the Granta list 🙂 I admit though that the names took some finding, mostly because they take so long to get into English…

    Reply

  11. Lisa Hill
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 08:49:34

    Hmmm, this all looks very tempting. I’ve read Sasa Stansic, Tristan Garcia and Laurent Binet, and if the others are as good as those, your list is a treat in store. All I need to do now is to clear a bit of space on my shelves LOL.

    Reply

  12. bythefirelight
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 03:29:20

    Great list. What are we going to do when you focus less on international literature?

    Reply

  13. jacquiwine
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 07:15:24

    This looks like a terrific list, Stu. I’ve just finished Luiselli’s Faces in the Crowd and loved the way in which the characters seem to slip into one another’s worlds. She’s such a talented writer and I’m looking forward to reading her forthcoming non-fiction collection. I also absolutely loved Neuman’s Traveller of the Century – so much charm, wit and intelligence. Many of the other names on your list are new to me, so I look forward to checking them out at some point.

    Reply

Leave a comment

April 2013
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives