Booker international shortlist my reaction

Here is the Shortlisted books

Not a River

Written by Selva Almada

I think this is one of my favourites to win it tackles being male in a tough world but also secrets and  set in the hinterlands,make it a wild ride.

Mater 2-10

Written by Hwang Sok-yong

I have yet to review this, but I have read it as an insight into the political past of Korea through the lens of strikers in a rail strike. My review is to come shortly. He got the idea for the story from someone that he meet.

What I’d Rather Not Think About

Written by Jente Posthuma

A sister looks back on her and her twin brother’s life as she tries to get to the heart of why he has taken his life and what brought him there and left her as the only twin.

Crooked Plow

Written by Itamar Vieira Junior

Twins the second book with twins this time twin sisters story told after they cut there tongues which lost there tongue and how do there lives and the world around them pan out after that event.

 

Kairos

Written by Jenny Erpenbeck

A love affair falls apart as the country they arelibving in the Old East Germany falls apart partly based on the writers own life.

The Details

Written by Ia Genberg

A woman remembers four relationships whilst in a fever in a fever dream state

Well I had picked

Karios

Not a river

Undiscovered

Lost on me

white nights

A dictator calls

The house on Via Gemito

Well as you see I have two books on the official shortlist. I feel one of these two will win the prize but I haven’t got much right this year. I feel this years list is aim at a young readership than me but has a great selection of autofiction , rural tales father figures and poverty all make the shortlist. I finished the last book off the longlist today and will have my reviews finished in the next week or two.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy746books
    Apr 09, 2024 @ 18:19:12

    I have Not A River and of the rest am keen to read The Details, Kairos and What I’d Rather Not Think About.

    Reply

  2. Tony
    Apr 09, 2024 @ 22:27:01

    Yeah, well, not much we can do about what the ‘experts’ choose…

    Reply

  3. Lisa Hill
    Apr 10, 2024 @ 00:55:46

    I think it’s rather sad that (assuming you are right) a ‘young readership’ has emerged and that the books written for it appeal to them but perhaps not to readers with more experience of life and the world. 

    Reply

Leave a comment

April 2024
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives