That was the month that was April 2020

  1. Tyll by Daniel Kehlmann
  2. Memoirs of a Woman Doctor by Nawal El Saadawi
  3. lets give it up for Gimme Lao by Sebastian Sim
  4. The Bell in the Lake by Lars Mytting
  5. I.city by Pavel Brycz

I only managed to review five books last month which I think is the lowest in the time I have blogged well. I managed one new country with a book from Singapore and the publisher of that book Epigram. MY journey started in medieval Germany with a jester taking center stage. Then one woman’s journey to being a doctor in post-war Egypt her struggle to get there based somewhat on the Nawal El Saadawi own life experience.   Then the story of post-independence Singapore from one family point of view. Then a new priest ruffles feathers in a small town by trying to take the Stave church and modernize the church and village. Then the story of one town in the Czech republic that in small parts they tell the story of the town of Most that have seen its heart torn out when it was torn down for mining. I edge closer to the 1000 book reviews which I am now 3 reviews short of this total. Which has become my Everest I think once I don this I will return to normal blog-wise. If that makes sense.

Book of the month –

I city by Pavel Byrcz

I have always enjoyed the books from Twisted spoon and this is great example of what they do a book that has a different form a town tells its story and that is one of loss and a heart of a city now gone but still carrying on .

The month ahead

I plan to finish reviewing the booker international books I also have one new country with a book from Thailand and that 1000 review book which I am currently reading. I’ve been of this week and am feeling refreshed maybe not read a lot but I have spent time with Amanda so I feel in the mood to read which the last few months I haven’t.

Non book-related matters-

I have brought three CDs from Martin Stephenson that I have had my eye in for a while he is a singer who in the late eighties and early nineties I enjoyed his albums with the Daintees having first heard him on John Peel. Well, I decide to buy a live a re-recording of his debut as an acoustic set and a recent album. So they shall be on in the car as I head to work next month. I have also been listening and downloading The BBC show Stereo Underground which is a local radio show that plays old school indie, punk, and alternative music. I think every show I have to listen to I have had old favorites and a couple that I hadn’t heard since the day. Times are hard here I worked with covioid on the ward I work at and Amanda at home classed as highly vulnerable this has worried me but I love my job and wife which meant I just did my job and took real care. I wish everyone well in these strange times.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amateur Reader (Tom)
    May 02, 2020 @ 20:13:29

    Three short of a thousand reviews! Holy cow. Congratulations in advance.

    Reply

  2. BookerTalk
    May 02, 2020 @ 20:24:54

    So close to that 1,000 – what a phenomenal achievement Stu.
    I can understand why you feel very nervous about working in an area where you are open to the virus. We have people like you to be so thankful for so just know that what you are doing is heroic

    Reply

  3. beckylindroos
    May 02, 2020 @ 22:07:14

    Oh good on you, Stu, what with your work and books and life (Amanda). That”s a lot to take care of. I have no one to take care of and my reading went way down simply because I can’t focus so well. I’m planning on reading Tyll maybe this month – so thank you for that review!

    Reply

  4. TravellinPenguin
    May 03, 2020 @ 02:44:16

    Well done for nearing 1000. Glad you and Amanda are both well. Strange times.

    Reply

  5. kaggsysbookishramblings
    May 03, 2020 @ 12:03:57

    Wow! 1000 reviews is something! Happy reading in May!

    Reply

Leave a comment

May 2020
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives