Tyll by Daniel Kehlmann

Tyll by Daniel Kehlmann

German fiction

original title – Tyll

Translator – Ross Benjamin

Source – review copy

I had thought I reviewed Daniel Kehlmann before but I had read F when it was on the old IFFP list but I didn’t get round to reviewing it rather like this year I think the time was running against me I had half read this in prep for the Booker prize but when it came to picking it up again I started and read it through in a couple of days. As I said I had read F by him and this is one I was sent and had planned to read as it mixes folklore, historic and a nod to the present in this work which is considered his best book.

Weeks pass before his legs allows him to get back on the rope. On the very first day, one of the baker’s daughter appears and sits down in the grass. He knows her by sight; her father often comes to the mill, because ever since Hanna Krell cursed him after a quarrrel he has been plagunesd by rheumatism. The pain won’t let him slepp, which is why he needs claus’s protective magic.

The boy consideres whether to chase her away. But first of all it wouldn’t be nic, and secondly he hasn’t forgotten that she won the stone throwing contest at the last village festival

As a youth learning the ropes.

The book focuses on the character of Till Eulenspiegel ( renamed Tyll Ulenspiegal here) the character has been in dutch and German folklore. He is a wandering chap a minstrel and jester all in one. But here we see him three hundred years after he first appeared in folklore since the 1500s the story here is set during the thirty years war. We see him growing up walking the rope in his home village that is like other villages but has a Grimm like feel with mentions of goblins and witches here is where the lines between the history of the time and the folk tales of the time. We see as he grows and events happen he has to leave his village to get into the wider world. Then as he leaves we see the events of the 1600s as he heads to the heart of what was called the never-ending war. The bloody battlefield real-life characters from the time are all interlink in what is a series of episodic nature as he meets mary queen of scots mother and her husband the king of Bohemia, counts and see the great battles of the thirty years war.

The fat count nodded and trued to imagine someone seriously shooting at him, aimingover the iron sights. At him, Martin von Wolkenstein, who had never done anyone wrong, with a real bullet made of lead. He looked down at himself.His back hurt, his bottom was sor from days in the saddle. He stroked his belly and imagined a bullet, he thought of the burnt goosehead, and the metall magic about which Athanasius Kircher had written a book on magnets: if you carried a magnetic stone of sufficent strengthin you pocket, you could deflect the bulletdsand make a man invunerable. The legendary scholar himself had tried it. Unfortunately, such strong magnets were rare and expensive.

The great german thinker Kircher

The story for me was a bit to fragment at the time I have scarce knowledge of the thirty years war and given time constraints I hadn’t time to read up which when I have time I would have done, Tyll is an interesting figure there is something of classic jester about him with his clever at times insight. Then there is a large chunk of Grimm here with talk of goblins and witches =. But then a  nod to the times with the madness of court life at times I was reminded of Blackadder here where the court is shown for its pompousness through Tyll’s eyes. Thi has a pinch of historic fiction a pinch of Grimm add some Tolkien and classic historic comedies. I may come back to this at some point when I have more time to read around the vents and setting but it is a book with a nod to the present as well with a reminder of what has been as a warning for what is happening.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Apr 05, 2020 @ 07:35:47

    I love Blackadder…
    Sad news from my part of the world, BTW, is that our book retailers are saying that it’s hard to get stock of overseas books at the moment. I’m not sure why this should be or how widespread it is, or even if it’s just temporary while the world gets used to the new normal, but it does mean that there might be very long delays if we order books that you’ve made so enticing. It might also mean that some companies go out of business and then we’ll have lost our money.
    Whatever about that, right now I don’t want to part with money going overseas when our own domestic economy is under such stress. Last week, a million people suddenly became unemployed when the new social distancing rules came in. (Our whole population is only 25 million so you can guess at the impact.) So I’m going to read some of the dozens of books I’ve bought when you recommended them before:)
    Take care and stay well, Lisa

    Reply

  2. 1streading
    Apr 05, 2020 @ 18:34:37

    Interesting to see Kehlmann returning to the historical novel that made his name (with Measuring the World). I think he’s a fascinating, versatile writer.

    Reply

  3. lizzysiddal
    Apr 07, 2020 @ 08:17:03

    I think Tyll is a much deeper book than at first appears. And it might very well be his best, but Measuring The World remains my favourite.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: That was the month that was April 2020 | Winstonsdad's Blog

Leave a comment

April 2020
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives