62: A model Kit by Julio Cortazar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

62: A Model Kit by Julio Cortazar

Argentinean fiction

Original title –  62/Modelo para armar

Translator – Gregory Rabassa

Source – Personal copy

I said when I reviewed The boat in the evening, I had another book from 1968 to review. This is it the second book for this blog by Julio Cortazar. The novel was a spin-off from his earlier book Hopscotch. He states that this book like his earlier book. Could be read in any order as each passage could link in any way to any other passages. Julio Cortazar own life was rather like the book itself he spent time in France Paris is one of the man place mentioned in the book and also a number of the characters are from Argentina.

Then I’ll walk through my city and I’ll enter the hotel

Or from the hotel I’ll go out to the zone of toilets redolent with urine and excrement,

Or I’ll be with you, my love, because with you I’ve gone down to my city on occasion

and in the streetcar thick with alien, shapeless pssengers I understood

That the abomination was coming, that the Dog was going to happen and I tried

to hold you against me, protect you from fright, but so many bodies separeted us, and when forced you off in a confused movement

The barebones of story no names and no places at times but wonderfully written.

Now this book is probably one of the most difficult I have read but also compelling. The action surrounds a number of characters Juan an Argentinean is the main character, he is maybe a shadow version of Julio himself. Then two fellow Argentinean’s Polanco and Cala add a piece of comic relief Masarrat a sculptor and Nicole an illustrator add the artistic nature and student and an older woman mix it in this novel in the city now this is a city that may be Oslo, Paris or London. The characters meet in places but they describe the cities but it also could just be another unnamed city that reminds this rag tag bunch of characters as they meet and drink. Then we also have a Vampire subplot.

Of course, the argument have absolutely nothing to do with swallows, as anyone who understands the language of the two Tartars can testify.

“Of all the people I know, you’re the biggest Cronk,” Calac says.

“And you’re the biggest pettifor,” Polanco says.”you call me a cronk, sir, but it ‘s obvious that you’ve never boneyed your face in a mirror.”

“What you’re trying to do is start a fight with me, mister,” Calac says.

The two argetineans are also reffered to as Tartars at times they fall oout in a slapstick manor at times.

How do you describe the avant-garde fiction this is a muddled book at times but with the real beauty in his writing. Like his fellow Argentinean Borges this is a book of Mirrors on the prose sometimes you feel you’ve read something before but it is slightly different.Then the book is also lime the famous Mazes the Borges also liked. Julio Cortazar he stated the book could be read in a  jumbled up order.Like BS Johnson’s masterpiece The unfortunates which went a step further than this book and had all the prose piece in separate small pamphlets for the reader to order as we wanted. So what we never know fully is where when and how the characters are connected just that they are this is, of course, an Oulipo novel so like the other books by writers from that group I have read it is the prose that matter, not a narrative timeline or order. Calvino with his playing card inspired piece the castle of crossed destinies. Then we also have two other books Dear reader and The flight of Icarus both that play with narrative style. Icarus using two interlocking storylines and Dear reader looks at what is the future of the book itself. This was a challenge and thanks for the 968 club for getting me to buy it for the challenge.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Nov 04, 2017 @ 20:55:46

    I struggled with this one, although I enjoyed Hopscotch.

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Nov 05, 2017 @ 00:01:21

    Uh, I was interested (because I really liked B S Johnson’s The Unfortunates) until you mentioned vampires. Vampires are like a roadblock for me, I’m just not going to go there!

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Nov 05, 2017 @ 12:26:42

    Sounds fascinating Stu – glad you could join in! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Nov 08, 2017 @ 11:28:34

    Hey, Stu, it must be synchronicity: a book I’ve just read – All My Goodbyes by Mariana Dimópulos (translated Alice Whitmore) – is said to have been influenced by Cortazar… see https://anzlitlovers.com/2017/11/08/all-my-goodbyes-by-mariana-dimopulos-translated-by-alice-whitmore/

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Literature Class: Book Review – the looking glass
  6. mia
    Dec 27, 2017 @ 04:09:26

    thank you for such an amazing review! i just finished reading Literature Class by Cortázar, and I’m wondering where I should start with his fiction. I posted a review and gave you a pingback! Please check out my post if you have time 😀

    Reply

  7. Tamara Baksht
    Dec 12, 2020 @ 18:04:15

    I love this book. Magic and twist

    Reply

Leave a comment

November 2017
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives