Expanding Spanish lit month into Spanish and Portuguese Lit month August

I have reviewed so few Novels from Portugal , I have decided to add some next month and expand our Spanish lit month through to its Iberian neighbour Portugal there has been some great Brazilian Novels and I want to read a few more writers from Portugal. So I treated myself some books from my first wage in my new Job and choose ten books  eight  of which are from Portuguese translation.Here are the titles I have ordered.

  1. Fields of Fate by Fernando Namora
  2. Crossing a story of East Timor by Kuis Cardoso
  3. Equator by Miguel Sousa Tavares
  4. The ultimate tragedy by Addulai Sila
  5. A God strolling in the cool place by Marie De Carvahlo
  6. The piano Cemetery by Jose Luis Pexito
  7. The painter of birds by Lidia Jorge
  8. The three Marias by Maria isabel Barreno , Maria Teresa Horta and Maria Velho da Costa

I have this selection from my shelves to read-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Two Novels by the Brazilian Master Machado De Assis

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A classic from Miguel Torga

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One from the old master Saramago

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A modern novel from Portugal

I have a few other lying around not sure will make the cut but here are a few choices and be nice see some novels short story collections from around the Lusophile world especially some African works maybe! Have you a favourite writer from Portuguese ?

 

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Jul 20, 2017 @ 21:12:11

    What a good idea! The only Portuguese author I know is Jose Saramago but I have five of his books on the TBR so I am good to go:)

    Reply

  2. roughghosts
    Jul 20, 2017 @ 21:44:21

    Expanding both into August is an excellent chance to double up with Women in Translation Month. I am ready to read another Lispector.

    Reply

  3. Melissa Beck
    Jul 20, 2017 @ 23:28:18

    Thanks so much for hosting this, Stu!

    Reply

  4. Tony
    Jul 20, 2017 @ 23:34:52

    Not sure I’ll manage any books in Portuguese, but I do have a few to double up with in August for this and Women in Translation Month 🙂

    Reply

  5. Guy Savage
    Jul 21, 2017 @ 04:13:21

    I checked my Portuguese shelf on Goodreads and it doesn’t exist!

    Reply

  6. Caroline West
    Jul 21, 2017 @ 08:30:32

    Two Lines has published two books by Portuguese writer João Golberto Noll. Now And at the Hour of Our Death by Portuguese writer Susana Moreira Marques is nonfiction based on her experience accompanying a hospice nurse in rural Portugal, but it reads like short stories. Very good. Fernando Pessoa for belles lettres (and poetry, of course). Nineteenth century classic: Eça de Queiros.

    For Spanish, I recommend Chromos by Alfau, a Bad End by Fernando Royuela, and The Man With Seven Names by Redol.

    Reply

  7. erdeaka
    Jul 21, 2017 @ 11:17:43

    I think I’m missing Spanish Lit month this July already since I haven’t read any Spanish books to this day and I don’t think I’ll make it on time. But I have one Allende book to read and review next month. So, can I join in?

    Reply

  8. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jul 21, 2017 @ 18:27:37

    Excellent idea Stu – I shall try to join in if I can. I’ve read some Machado de Assis and loved his work!

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Spanish Lit Month : No Word From Gurb by Eduardo Mendoza | Book Around The Corner
  10. Trackback: Spanish Lit Month: One-Way Journey by Carlos Salem | Book Around The Corner
  11. Trackback: Spanish Lit Month: The Sadness of the Samurai by Víctor del Árbol | Book Around The Corner

Leave a comment

July 2017
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives