Man booker international longlist 2016 my thoughts

 

The list is as follows plus my short view of each book

José Eduardo Agualusa (Angola) Daniel Hahn, A General Theory of Oblivion (Harvill Secker)

I loved his Book of Chameleons which I reviewed a few years ago , this was one of two books back in January I tried to get from the library but couldn’t get as they hadn’t got it . I have yet to get this one

Elena Ferrante (Italy) Ann Goldstein, The Story of the Lost Child (Europa Editions)

Well I am pleased she has finally made a longlist, although I have struggled to read Ferrante, but will treat this as a stand alone book .I order my editon at 2 this morning from the library.

Han Kang (South Korea) Deborah Smith, The Vegetarian (Portobello Books)

One I got right a triptych of stories around one woman and her life . My review 

Maylis de Kerangal (France) Jessica Moore, Mend the Living (Maclehose Press)

I loved this one and it just missed the cut of my list yesterday so pleasedktis on the actual list . A pulsating day as one mans heart goes on a journey . MY review 

Eka Kurniawan (Indonesia) Labodalih Sembiring, Man Tiger (Verso Books)

This was the other book I tried to get at the start of the year as it like the Agualusa was on Boyd’s end of year list last year . I have yet to get this one

Yan Lianke (China) Carlos Rojas, The Four Books (Chatto & Windus)

I read Dream of Ding village that was also on the old IFFP list here is my review  .I ordered this from the library

Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Democratic Republic of Congo/Austria) Roland Glasser, Tram 83 (Jacaranda)

My second one right so leased to see this it was such a fast paced and well translated book here is my review .

Raduan Nassar (Brazil) Stefan Tobler, A Cup of Rage (Penguin Modern Classics)

Strange I got the other book Penguin had brought out just this week by this writer so I will have to order this as I wanted this but my library only had Ancient Tillage .

Marie NDiaye (France) Jordan Stump, Ladivine (Maclehose Press)

I reviewed three strong women by Marie which I reviewed here  and am looking forward to this as it is yet to come out .

death by water by kenzaburo Oe

Kenzaburō Ōe (Japan) Deborah Boliner Boem, Death by Water (Atlantic Books)

I have read this and said to Tony not thinking it would that it would make the longlist well it did great see a later book from a great writer like Oe . My review 

Aki Ollikainen (Finland) Emily Jeremiah & Fleur Jeremiah, White Hunger (Peirene Press)

I just missed this yesterday so many books so few spaces in my 13 as ever a great book from Peirene on the list this is a powerful tale on surviving hunger . My review 

wpid-20151124_134719.jpg

Orhan Pamuk (Turkey) Ekin Oklap, A Strangeness in My Mind (Faber & Faber)

I should guessed this would be on the list his other books have been on the old IFFP list . I am even more pleased to have read the longest book on the long list here is my review .

Robert Seethaler (Austria) Charlotte Collins, A Whole Life (Picador)

Every year there is one that had passed me by totally and this is the one I have ordered it from the library and looking forward to it .

Well Tony had some bits right in his post yesterday. This is much same as last few IFFP list with a couple of extra books I feellike the Ferrant and Tram 83. Still shocked why Istros hasn’t got a book again or world editions. BUt I have seven new books to read in the next few weeks .

March 2016
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives