Man booker international longlist 2016 my thoughts

 

The list is as follows plus my short view of each book

José Eduardo Agualusa (Angola) Daniel Hahn, A General Theory of Oblivion (Harvill Secker)

I loved his Book of Chameleons which I reviewed a few years ago , this was one of two books back in January I tried to get from the library but couldn’t get as they hadn’t got it . I have yet to get this one

Elena Ferrante (Italy) Ann Goldstein, The Story of the Lost Child (Europa Editions)

Well I am pleased she has finally made a longlist, although I have struggled to read Ferrante, but will treat this as a stand alone book .I order my editon at 2 this morning from the library.

Han Kang (South Korea) Deborah Smith, The Vegetarian (Portobello Books)

One I got right a triptych of stories around one woman and her life . My review 

Maylis de Kerangal (France) Jessica Moore, Mend the Living (Maclehose Press)

I loved this one and it just missed the cut of my list yesterday so pleasedktis on the actual list . A pulsating day as one mans heart goes on a journey . MY review 

Eka Kurniawan (Indonesia) Labodalih Sembiring, Man Tiger (Verso Books)

This was the other book I tried to get at the start of the year as it like the Agualusa was on Boyd’s end of year list last year . I have yet to get this one

Yan Lianke (China) Carlos Rojas, The Four Books (Chatto & Windus)

I read Dream of Ding village that was also on the old IFFP list here is my review  .I ordered this from the library

Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Democratic Republic of Congo/Austria) Roland Glasser, Tram 83 (Jacaranda)

My second one right so leased to see this it was such a fast paced and well translated book here is my review .

Raduan Nassar (Brazil) Stefan Tobler, A Cup of Rage (Penguin Modern Classics)

Strange I got the other book Penguin had brought out just this week by this writer so I will have to order this as I wanted this but my library only had Ancient Tillage .

Marie NDiaye (France) Jordan Stump, Ladivine (Maclehose Press)

I reviewed three strong women by Marie which I reviewed here  and am looking forward to this as it is yet to come out .

death by water by kenzaburo Oe

Kenzaburō Ōe (Japan) Deborah Boliner Boem, Death by Water (Atlantic Books)

I have read this and said to Tony not thinking it would that it would make the longlist well it did great see a later book from a great writer like Oe . My review 

Aki Ollikainen (Finland) Emily Jeremiah & Fleur Jeremiah, White Hunger (Peirene Press)

I just missed this yesterday so many books so few spaces in my 13 as ever a great book from Peirene on the list this is a powerful tale on surviving hunger . My review 

wpid-20151124_134719.jpg

Orhan Pamuk (Turkey) Ekin Oklap, A Strangeness in My Mind (Faber & Faber)

I should guessed this would be on the list his other books have been on the old IFFP list . I am even more pleased to have read the longest book on the long list here is my review .

Robert Seethaler (Austria) Charlotte Collins, A Whole Life (Picador)

Every year there is one that had passed me by totally and this is the one I have ordered it from the library and looking forward to it .

Well Tony had some bits right in his post yesterday. This is much same as last few IFFP list with a couple of extra books I feellike the Ferrant and Tram 83. Still shocked why Istros hasn’t got a book again or world editions. BUt I have seven new books to read in the next few weeks .

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 08:23:09

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 2016 Man Booker International Longlist | ANZ LitLovers LitBlog
  3. Tony
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 08:48:35

    Lots of fun ahead – let the reading begin🙂

    Reply

  4. whisperinggums
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 09:54:51

    You’ve made a good start Stu! Well done.

    Reply

  5. JacquiWine
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 11:04:07

    It’s good to see your thoughts on the list, Stu – sounds like you’ve got plenty to look forward to over the next month or so. I’ve only read two of the books: the Ferrante and White Hunger – very happy to see both on the longlist. The Seethaler is in my TBR, I’ve heard great things about it.

    Reply

  6. A Little Blog of Books
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 13:30:20

    Really excited about this longlist and great to see that it’s truly global. I’ve only read the Ferrante and de Kerangal so far but loved them both.

    Reply

  7. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 20:11:04

    Love this list, much to get excited about and thanks for all your connections Stu, happy reading!

    Reply

  8. farmlanebooks
    Mar 11, 2016 @ 21:20:44

    Ooohh – I have Book of Chameleons in my TBR, but hadn’t made the connection with this book on the longlist. Will have to get around to reading Book of Chameleons!

    I tried reading The Four Books earlier this year and found the style really weird. I hope you have more luck than I did with it. The only other book from this list I’ve read is The Vegetarian so I look forward to seeing your thoughts on the rest of the longlist!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2016
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
