Shadow man asian booker judges

I received a E- mail from Lisa of anzlitlovers the other day inviting me to join her and three other bloggers in reading and judging this years MAN Asian longlist,of course I said yes I really want to read more Asian fiction than I do at moment  .She was inspired by the long running Giller shadow list that is run by Kevin of Kevin from Canada where he choose bloggers and they decide on a winner of that prize from the long listed books .Now I have to hold my hand up I was am already planning something similar for next years IFFP and had spoken to book trust about it , but more about that another day, any way. The bloggers Lisa have brought together are –

Matt from novel approach 

Sue from Whispering gums 

Fay from Read,ramble

and our chair Lisa from ANZlit lovers .

So here are the books in the longlist

2011 Longlist

JAMIL AHMAD (Pakistan) – The Wandering Falcon

TAHMIMA ANAM (Bangladesh) – The Good Muslim

JAHNAVI BARUA (India) – Rebirth

RAHUL BHATTACHARYA (India) – The Sly Company of People Who Care

MAHMOUD DOWLATABADI (Iran) – The Colonel

AMITAV GHOSH (India) – River of Smoke

HARUKI MURAKAMI (Japan) – 1Q84

ANURADHA ROY (India) – The Folded Earth

KYUNG-SOOK SHIN (South Korea) – Please Look After Mom

TARUN J TEJPAL (India) – The Valley of Masks

YAN LIANKE (China) – Dream of Ding Village

BANANA YOSHIMOTO (Japan) – The Lake

The  books all link back to the MAN Asian prize pages on the writers .I ve read one already Please look after Mother by Khung-Sook Sin . I ve chosen to read the The wandering falcon ,The good Muslim ,The sly company of people who care and The valley of masks .We all be reading a few so I ll be share the other reviews over the course of the prize .

Have you read any of the books listed ?

Do you have a favourite Asian writer ?

 

 

 

 

 

November 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives