Choices for The Argentinian and Uruguayan lit of Doom

IMG_1911-0

Well on Saturday I mentioned on Saturday my joy at finding The Peron novel for Richards Argentina based lit challenge from now to December .So I decide to share some choices I have to try from first up along side Te Peron novel is Hopscotch a book I want to have on the blog at some point as it is Considered Julio Cortazar’s masterpiece and a great piece of Experimental fiction .Now the rest of my choices are on my kindle so first up

Cesar Aira triple pack of novels

I already Had an episode in the life of a landscape painter the new direction version ,I have since downloads Ghosts and the Literacy conference from the Penguin collection pictured above I haven’t read and these three short novels will be a great intro.

the planets Sergio Chefij

The planets by Sergio Chejfec ,a novel set in seventies Beuno Aires from Open letter the us publisher .

the mad toy roberto Arlt

Now another classic of Argentinianlit Arlt debut novel follows a criminal that operates on the streets of Beunos Aires .

I have a few others to surprise you with ,are you joining in the challenge ? I hope to get two read amonth for the next three months (set bar lower than usual as I’ve a backlog of reviews and tend to go OTT with challenges )

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 20:24:41

    I’ve been loaned a copy of Hopscotch but not yet read it – must do so!

    Reply

  2. Tony
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 23:48:24

    Some great books there – I’m another who really wants to get around to ‘Hopscotch’ at some point…

    Reply

  3. Richard
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 02:39:07

    What great choices, Stu! I’ve read all but the Chejfec and that particular Eloy Martínez novel, both of which I hope to get to some day, but I’d be totally shocked if you were let down by Aira’s Ghosts, Arlt’s Mad Toy or that Cortázar doorstopper: three of my favorite works in all of Argentinean literature and so different from one another at the same time. You have some really good times ahead, my friend, and I look forward to eventually seeing what your surprise choices might be. Cheers!

    Reply

  4. Rebecca
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 03:41:36

    Thanks for the preview, Stu. I haven’t read any of your picks except excerpts of Hopscotch, but there are lots of Argentinian novels translated to choose from.

    Reply

  5. jacquiwine
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 06:52:11

    An interesting mix of books, Stu. I’ve heard very good things about Chejfec so I’ll be looking out for your review of The Planets. I’m still deciding which books to read, but I have a few possibilities..

    Reply

Leave a comment

September 2014
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives