Booker guessing 2012

Booker longlist 2012 guesses

Well I was in two minds about doing this two reasons I failed miserable last year and also I am much further away from the ebb and flow of what are the mover and shakers that are happening in English literary at this moment ,but I find twitter helps me keep up with what may be hot .I have had a love of the booker in my twenties when I read a lot of books from the lists ,so will use this years list as a guide to what I ll be buying in the next few months to read .I feel with Peter Stothard at the helm this year the list will be more to my taste than last years list .so I ll get my crystal ball out and give you my feeling for the longlist bakers dozen due out next week .

  1. Umbrella by Will Self – a change of direction for will in a way stream of consciousness writing this time but with a few familiar faces .I loved will’s early books and he should have been on a shortlist before now .
  2. Zoo time by Howard Jacobson his new one he won with his last and was writing this at the time an insight into publishing world through the novelist Guy Ableman .
  3. Capital by John Lancaster  the story of Pepys road a normal London street and via that street we see a cross-section of modern britain .as the street has all from the up and coming to the down and out 
  4. Bring up the bodies by Hilary Mantel The second part of the trilogy that started with the booker winner Wolf hall more of the life of Thomas Cromwell 
  5. Ancient light by John Banville an actor looks back at his teen years  in 50’s Ireland an illicit love affair in the fields and in the back of cars 
  6. Hawthorn and child by Keith Ridgway a couple of blogger been singing this ones praises .A middle-aged detective sorts through scatter clues an adventurous text they say ,Try Bolano I say 
  7. The casual vacancy by J K Rowling I know I may be off my head but it is her first adult book and set in an english village .I love book set in villages and would get people talking if it was there 
  8. Merivel A man of his time  by Rose Tremain ,she been on shortlists and maybe give Mantel a run for her money . Set in court of Charles II about the restoration man Robert Merivel a courtier and physician. 
  9. Pure Timothy Mo its been a long time since he had a book out over ten years I read one that made shortlist years ago be nice to see this book set in Thailand and dealing with Islam make the list 
  10. Chinaman by Shehan Karunatilaka a dying sportswriter tries to track the greatest cricketer in the world a spin bowler that disappeared .Mark of Eleutheropbia loved this one .
  11.  The Street sweeper by Eliot Perlman another that I know some blogs love ,Lisa from ANZ litlovers first drew my attention to it .an interwoven bunch of stories set in New York .
  12. All that I am by Anna Funder her first book stasiland was a prize winner and this is her first work of fiction set in 1933 follows a group of friends that have become outlaws due to hitler .
  13. well I going leave this blank can’t make mind up between Carey ,McEwan and strangely Amis (as TLS still seem to like him )

So what you think ?

Wonder how I will do this time ?

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ryan
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 02:04:58

    I’ve not yet read any of these titles but many are on my radar (there are a few I hadn’t even heard of, but that’s not surprising). Hate to admit it, but a Booker nomination would shuffle any title up my to-read list.

    Reply

  2. Amritorupa Kanjilal
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 06:51:30

    Hi Stu!
    I’ve just started my own Booker guessing, and my guess is firmly with Bring Up The Bodies, though I’m also waiting eagerly to read The Casual Vacancy and Zoo Time (mainly because I love the authors)
    Lets see how many in your list make it to the shortlist 🙂

    Reply

  3. Linda endersby
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 07:45:27

    Hi Stu,

    Here is my list. It contains some everyone is talking about, some authors that do well and some that are pure wishes on my part
    Land of Decoration-Grace Mcleen
    Shelter – Frances Greenslade
    The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry- Rachel Joyce
    Bringing up the Bodies -Hilary Mantel
    A Possible Life – Sebastian Faulks
    NW – Zadie Smith
    Sweet Tooth-Ian McEwan
    The Yips- Nicola Barker
    Ancient Light – John Banveille
    Capital -John Lanchester
    Waiting for Sunrise – William Boyd
    Toby’s Room -Pat Barker
    The Red House-Mark Haddon

    We have 3 in common! Let’s see what happens

    Linda

    Reply

  4. Severs
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 07:53:44

    Hi Stu

    Interesting list. Unfortunately both All That I Am and Chinaman are ineligible as they were published in the previous Booker year.

    Would be very interesting if JKR made the list…!

    Reply

  5. farmlanebooks
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 09:24:10

    We share 4 choices – which seems to be the rough number everyone shares when compiling a Booker list! I didn’t realise that Zoo Time was about the publishing industry. I’m not a fan of Jacobson so I wont be reading it, but I can see it being longlisted. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for The Street Sweeper – it is an amazing book and I hope that lots of people are persuaded to give it a try.

    Reply

  6. vikzwrites
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 11:03:57

    You said you were interested in the Booker in the past. I wonder, is the Booker as relevant as it used to be?

    Reply

  7. Gavin
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 14:13:25

    I have several of these books on my to-be-read list. It is great fun seeing everyone’s predictions.

    Reply

  8. Parrish
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 19:03:55

    Don’t know any of these, but not surprised as my reading is about a couple of years behind this selection, might have a guess at 2010’s list & see how I do. 😉

    Reply

  9. kimbofo
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 20:27:42

    I lost faith in the Booker about six years or so ago and don’t really follow it anymore. But your list looks good. I’d also add the Peter Carey to it. I suspect Zadie Smith, Nicola Barker and, dare I say it, Martin Amis might make the cut too. But, as ever, I suspect there will be quite a few books that appear on here we’ve never heard of — that’s usually the way — including ones that haven’t yet been published. After last year’s debacle, let’s hope there’s some books on it that are worth reading…

    Reply

  10. JoV
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 20:50:53

    I often have no clue about the long list but I would be interested to see how many you guess right!

    Reply

  11. Bina
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 10:37:17

    Capital, the Ridgway and Mo books are so very intriguing. As usual I don’t know any of these books on the list and am ages behind. But I just might try Bolano first! 🙂

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jul 22, 2012 @ 11:43:08

      oh do try Bolano first ,then these ,all the best stu

      Reply

      • Bina
        Jul 27, 2012 @ 22:11:33

        Stu, which of his books would you recommend I start with?

      • winstonsdad
        Aug 24, 2012 @ 11:55:30

        savage detectives my favourite ,all the best stu

      • Bina
        Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:29:49

        I’ll have to read that one next…I’ll read anything with detective in the title 😉

      • parrish lantern
        Jul 27, 2012 @ 23:00:54

        Hi Bina, a great place to start is the short story collection Last Evenings on Earth, all that makes a Bolana book but in a form that distills the essence allowing you a flavour & an idea if you’d like his writing before trying the larger works.

      • Bina
        Aug 05, 2012 @ 21:45:02

        Thanks so much for the recommendation, Parrish! I’ll have to see look for a copy of that one. Meanwhile I’ve looted 2666 from the library, hope I’ll manage, not so good with chunksters..

  12. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 16:40:52

    None read. I’ve been out of touch for sometime but as someone who does get things right sometimes, I will look forward to seeing some of the books here in the list.

    Reply

  13. Sarah
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 22:18:46

    This is fun! We have three books in common, but I was split between naming what I think will be on and what I would like to be on the list. So I don’t suppose I’ll do very well… I think you’ve made some good calls, and still contrived an interesting list!

    Reply

Leave a comment

July 2012
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives