Thanks all Henry Green week wrap up post

Firstly I want to thank every one who took part and read and reviewed Henry’s novels we manage to put up reviews of six  of his nine novels .Thus increasing his profile on the web I hope our reviews make more people pick up his books and maybe see some of his books return to print .here are the full round-up of reviews –

Back by Henry Green reviewed by Mel of reading life ,great This is one I ve not read but will after reading Mel’s review .

Party going by Henry green reviewed by Annabella of Gaskella who call henry Green quite a discovery .

Party Going by Henry Green Gary of Parrish lantern also reviewed it calling the main characters Empty vessels .

Blindness by Henry Green Simon of stuck in a book start with the first of Green’s works his debut and loved it .

Loving by Henry Green David of follow the thread read this and said green had produced something utterly distinctive .

Back by Henry Green Fay  of Readramble also reviewed this ,and found echos of Waugh and Beckett in it .

Caught by Henry Green Sarah of  rat in the book pile  also read this like my self and calling it a sparkling jewel of a novel .

Living by Henry Green Harriet of Harriet Devine Blog review this and said how completely in love with Henry Green’s writing she is .

Loving by Henry Green by Tanya of 20thcenturyvox ,she felt that there was something symbolic in the novel .

Loving ny henry Green Karyn of a penguin a week also review this and felt it was more complex than it first seems

Loving by Henry Green Anbolyn of Gudrun tights found it a unique take on the love story .

Caught by Henry Green Helen of  Galimaufry agreed with me the scandal this book is out of print and very expensive to get second-hand .

Party Going by Henry Green Caroline of Beauty is a sleeping cat thought this was comedy of manners .

Thanks every one for your reviews .

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 20:26:30

    Wow! That’s a wonderful result! Congratulations, Stu. A worthy ambition and you’ve made a great success of it.

    I am really unhappy that Caught is out of print. I borrowed my copy and I have to give it back 😦

    Reply

  2. Anbolyn
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 20:56:22

    Thanks for bringing Green to our attention! I am glad that I read Loving – it is definitely a memorable book.

    Reply

  3. Simon T
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 23:07:42

    What a lovely list of reviews – especially for a novelist whom I’ve seen only mentioned once or twice before across the blogosphere. Thanks so much for organising this. Maybe an annual event??

    Reply

  4. gaskella
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 08:46:43

    I’m glad I have two more in my collected edition to read, as the one I did read was great. Thanks for organising this Stu.

    Reply

  5. Caroline
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 08:57:02

    Thanks so much, Stu for organizing this week. I’m so glad I read Green. He is a major discovery.

    Reply

  6. kimbofo
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 22:36:11

    I’ve bookmarked this page, Stu, and will come back to it for inspiration. Sadly, I haven’t had time to take part in your Henry Green initiative, only because I was too busy running my Oz Lit month, but it was a brilliant idea, and I’m so pleased to see you’ve gathered all the reviews in one place.

    Reply

  7. Heather
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 02:10:30

    I’ve been checking in this week and enjoying the adventure. Always good to be introduced to new authors. Thanks.

    Reply

  8. Rise
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 04:52:06

    Congratulations on a successful event, Stu! I regret not joining as I don’t have a copy of Green at hand. I’ve read his first novel, Blindness, years ago and it’s very memorable.

    Reply

  9. Rose City Reader
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 00:12:47

    I started Living last week, but didn’t come close to finishing it in time to post my review during the event. I have to confess I find it a hard slog. The dialect I enjoy. The inexplicable lack of articles makes me want to toss book across room, as Green might write.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Monday musings on Australian literature: Jessica Anderson « Whispering Gums
  11. Trackback: Charles Dickens – The Bicentenary « A Rat in the Book Pile
  12. Rose City Reader
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 19:43:59

    OK, I finished and posted my review of Living: http://www.rosecityreader.com/2012/02/review-living.html

    Sorry I didn’t get it in on time. But since it might get me kicked off the Green team for good, maybe it’s best that I didn’t get it posted during Green Week.

    Reply

  13. Trackback: ‘Loving’ by Henry Green | The Resident Judge of Port Phillip

Leave a comment

January 2012
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives