That was August 2023 on Wintsonsdad

  1. Angels of Oblivion by Maja Haderlap
  2. Wound by Oksana Vasyakina 
  3. Misdunderstanding in Moscow by Simone de Beauvoir
  4. The performance by Claudia Petrucci
  5. Voices of the lost by Hoda  barakat
  6. Rombo by Esther Kinsky
  7. The Taiga syndrome by Christina Rivera Garza
  8. The missing word Concita de Gregorio
  9. The Remains by Margo Glantz
  10. A sunday in Ville-de Avary by Dominque Barberis
  11. Crimson by Nivaq Korneliussen
  12. Optic Nerve by Maria Gainza
  13. A Bookshop in Algiers by Kaouther Adimi

Well I started this month with a bang but the last two weeks I just hadn’t blogged I think I just finishing work and now have two weeks off the first fortnight off since this time last year. But I did review thirteen books which is the best I have done in a month this year and shows I am back in a sort of blogging routine the journey this month went from German and some Slovenian Germans and then to Russia and a mother’s ashes going back to Siberia. Then we stay in Russia for a modern classic from a French writer a couple spend time in fifties Moscow. Then a woman has a breakdown and two meet try to fix her in there own ways. Then a series of lost voices in the form of letters from a Lebanese writer tell the refugees stories. Then a number of adults recall the devastating effect of an earthquake when they were kids in Italy. Then a detective uses fairy tales to solve a crime. Then a woman talks about her ex killing her daughters. Then a woman is at her husband’s wake as she drifts back and forth in time to their lives together. Then a pair of sisters in Paris discover something about one of them. Then growing up in Greenland in the LGBT community. We meet an art critic who talks about the art she is involved with and finally, a bookshop in Algiers history is recalled. Well that is 13 books all written by women for Woman in Translation Month I had hope to do more but I maybe should have prepared a little earlier.

Book of the month

Well, I pass as there are quite a few I could think it was such a great month. The first book from Greenland was great these are all worth trying as each is a very individual book.

Non-book events

I have caught two new series Only Murders in the Buildings the third series of this comic crime series that use three characters that do. Crime Podcast this time a well-known actor is found dead and also add to this the addition of Meryl Streep is class she is always amazing in everything she does. Then there was the latest Star Wars series Ahsoka the latest Star Wars spin-off. I’m not sure what I think so far Three episodes in and it is okay but not quite grabbed me there is a feeling of milking the cash cow dry maybe. What do you think ?

Next month

It is the first Czech Lit Month I hope have a review up over the weekend to set the ball rolling and then get four or five more books read and reviewed this month. I am mid-way through a  Maigret and have a couple of books from before Woman in Translation Month to be reviewed. What are your plans for next month ?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Sep 01, 2023 @ 18:37:25

    Some great WIT Month reading there Stu! Looking forward to something Czech this month too!

    Reply

  2. BookerTalk
    Sep 01, 2023 @ 21:04:43

    You’ve certainly clocked up some reading air miles over the last month.

    Reply

  3. Lisa Hill
    Sep 02, 2023 @ 01:18:20

    My review for Czech Lit Month won’t be ready straight away because I’m only just about to start reading it now (The Good Soldier Svejk) and it’s quite long. But you can count on me to join in when I get there and of course I will be reading everyone’s reviews.

    Reply

  4. JacquiWine
    Sep 03, 2023 @ 09:24:09

    What an excellent month of reading, Stu! Funnily enough, a friend picked A Bookshop in Algiers for our book group last month. We’re meeting next weekend, so it’ll be fascinating to see what everyone thinks!

    Reply

Leave a comment

September 2023
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives