Spanish Lit Month 2021 plus Portuguese lit

Since 2012 the has been a Spanish lit month in July every year a couple of years ago Richard and I expand it to include Portuguese lit which for me was a way to try and read a few more Portuguese works which is an area I feel is weak on the blog. SO I announce this year’s Spanish lit month and I will be doing two reads this month.

The first week this year I would love people to try some modern Latin American lit there has been so much that has come out in recent years. The writers from Andres Neuman to Mariana Enriquez have shown how diverse Latin American Literature has been. I have chosen a book from a publisher that has brought us some great books from Latin America Charco Press there backlist is a good place to start with the best of the new writers from Latin America. The book from them I have chosen for a read-along in week one of July is A collection of short stories from the write Federico Falco A perfect cemetery the study obsessive love, romantic love, and how we deal with death and grief as a mayor tries to build the perfect cemetery for a dying wish.

Week two Spain no read-along just a book or two from Spain there been so much from Latin America in recent years. But maybe not as many from Spain. but it is great to read some Spanish fiction or even some nonfiction work. any suggestions welcome.

Week three classic lit. Well, modern classics really I have chosen a book by Peruvian Nobel winner Mario Vargas Llosa his best-known book which is Aunt Julia and the scriptwriter which describes Mario a thinly veiled version of Mario himself working in Peruvian radio doing the highly popular daily soap operas we follow his writing and personal life. I read this years ago and wonder if it has dated any in the time since I last read it. There was a Hollywood version of the book which I had hoped would be online or available for watching but tune in tomorrow isn’t available shame as it is a great film.

Week four is Portuguese week a mix of lit from Portugal and its ex-colonies I hope to read the madwoman of Serrano by Dina Salustio the first female writer from Cape Verde to be translated which Dedalus books brought out a while ago there has been a number of great African titles translated from Portuguese in recent years. I also hope to read a book from Portugal this week.

Will you be joining in? what books will you choose?

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jun 06, 2021 @ 19:33:12

    Hurrah! Will definitely try to join in Stu – pleased that Portugal is in there, as I have some unread Saramago. May also try to finally read some Pessoa!

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Jun 07, 2021 @ 02:37:06

    I’ll join in once I’ve finished hosting #IndigLitWeek (July 4-11). I’ve got Saramagos I’d like to read from my TBR. He is one of my favourite authors.

    Reply

  3. JacquiWine
    Jun 07, 2021 @ 08:56:04

    Hi Stu, I will try to join in this year as I have one or two Spanish language options in the TBR. Will you be extending it into August, as in some previous years? If so, it may well influence when I read my top choice as this would also count for Women in Translation month in Aug.

    Reply

  4. Emma
    Jun 07, 2021 @ 18:58:39

    I’m in!

    I’ve just read Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter. I didn’t see this cover and I really wonder what it has to do with the book.
    Happy reading!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Winding Up the Week #174 – Book Jotter
  6. Trackback: Spanish Lit Month – some reading recommendations for July | JacquiWine's Journal
  7. Lisa Hill
    Jun 19, 2021 @ 00:32:42

    Led astray by some Russian short stories, I’m late to the party but I have just read The Dialogue of Two Snails by Lorca and have scheduled my review for June 21st. (And #NoPromises while I’m out of my depth reviewing poetry, I’ll try to read Pessoa in time for next week!)

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Timing can be everything in the world of books and wine… | JacquiWine's Journal
  9. Annabel (AnnaBookBel)
    Jun 28, 2021 @ 07:40:04

    I’m reading Nada by Carmen Laforet.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: June reading, and the end of an up and down month… | Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings
  11. Trackback: Spanish and Portuguese Lit Month 2021 – Hopewell's Public Library of Life
  12. Trackback: The Island by Ana María Matute (tr. Laura Lonsdale) | JacquiWine's Journal
  13. Trackback: Reading Challenges Update – Hopewell's Public Library of Life
  14. Trackback: Spanish & Portuguese Lit Month Review: Sidewalks by Valeria Luiselli, translated by Christina MacSweeney – Hopewell's Public Library of Life
  15. Trackback: Tender is the Flesh by Agustina Bazterrica, translated by Sarah Moses. Book 11 of #20booksofsummer21
  16. Trackback: Losing Is a Question of Method by Santiago Gamboa – crime fiction in Bogota | Book Around the Corner
  17. Trackback: “Life is a very bad novelist. It is chaotic and ludicrous.” (Javier Marías) | madame bibi lophile recommends
  18. Trackback: Valdesil Montenovo Godello 2019 – a Spanish white wine for #SpanishLitMonth | JacquiWine's Journal
  19. Trackback: There and Back Again (with books and art along the way) – "You Might as Well Read"

Leave a comment

June 2021
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives