7 years bloganniversary let’s go to Spain

20160621_102116

The wordpress app told me at weekend it was seven years since winstonsdad started its trip around the world of Literature. In that time I have managed to review 635 books from 103 countries a real tour of the world . I miss the old days of blogging when it seemed new and fun but the recent move and a new library have spurred this old blogger on to carry on so we start off with the next spanish lit month which is next month. I have five books I plan to read one is reread.

20160621_102006

First up is two books due out from Harvil secker The first from a new star of Spanish Literature DIvorce is in the air by Gonzalo Torne one for the fans of Ferrante and Knausgaard says Harvil . Next is On the edge by Rafael Chirbes one of the great writers of recent times from Spain he won two of the biggest prizes in Spanish literature.

20160621_102022

Nocilla dream is the reread of the pile a wonderful odd collection of short snippets like a trail of photos with stories made up about them. I enjoyed it on the first read but felt a second reading would be worth it for this collection .

20160621_102030

Next up is Loquela by Carlos Labbe the chilean writer is compared to Borges and this is a warped love story and detective novel in one . One of those books that challenges the reader.

20160621_102039

Lasr but not least is the won derfully witty Sky over lima which sees two writers in Chile write and start a love affair in letter with the famous Spanish poet Juan Ramon Jimenz .In what started as a plan to get his latest book early turns it a love in letters .

Have you any plans for Spanish lit month ?

How do you keep your blogging fresh after a number of years ?

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sakura
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 10:41:17

    Congratulations Stu! And I hope you continue bringing us news of translated books for many years to come.

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 11:09:14

    Well, Stu, I only need to look through my reading journal and my TBR to see the influence you have had on my reading. Before I started reading Winston’s Dad, I read hardly anything in translation: Now in 2016, I’ve read 12 already. Thank you for bringing me books from around the world!

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 12:21:20

    Well done Stu – a real achievement!

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 15:30:34

    Congratulations! Here’s to 7 more years of great reviews, although my bank balance won’t thank you! 😉

    Reply

  5. MarinaSofia
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 18:16:34

    7 years – you have been a very busy man! And I’m glad you got your mojo back. I like the sound of all of the books you mention above… alas! I will probably continue my Javier Marias and Javier Cercas exploration but am not sure if I can ‘formally’ join Spanish Lit Month, as I’ll be moving in July.

    Reply

  6. Bellezza
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 18:20:28

    I have begun La Regenta by Alas, but alas, it is not as much like Madame Bovary as I had heard…I am bogged down. I also have a few other Spanish novels sent to me by Restless books which I plan to read for Spanish Lit month.

    Also, it has been so wonderful to see the pictures of your new home on Facebook. What happy days!!

    Reply

  7. A Little Blog of Books
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 21:26:41

    Congrats Stu – a fantastic achievement! Looks like you have some interesting books to read to celebrate.

    Reply

  8. Séamus Duggan
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 23:52:50

    Well done Stu. Here’s to the next seven. Not sure I have any advice on keeping it fresh apart from regularly scraping off the mould… Impetus is hard to keep but as it goes so it returns (I hope). I have a few plans for SpanishLitMonth, including re-reading and posting on Rulfo’s The Burning Plain and trying to finish blogs (or should that really read start?) on a couple of Aira’s that I also read but failed to post on. And I’ll read something new (to me) as well, but not sure what.

    Reply

  9. amanda
    Jun 22, 2016 @ 00:20:08

    Happy bloggiverary, Stu! It sounds like you have some great plans for July – I’m just hoping I actually make it through one book, on time, this year. I’m planning to read The President by Miguel Angel Austurias, but we’ll see…

    Reply

  10. Dagny
    Jun 22, 2016 @ 02:13:13

    Congratulations on your seven years, Stu!

    I’m not participating in Spanish Lit month, but actually have one coming up next month at the 19th Century Literature group. Leon Roch by Benito Pérez Galdós. I’ve read a couple by Pérez Galdós before which I enjoyed.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Spanish Lit Month, Paris in July: Something Old and Something New To Read – Dolce Bellezza
  12. Caroline
    Jun 23, 2016 @ 01:29:14

    Am two-thirds through Fernando Royuela’s new A Bad End–fantastic. Lots of 20th century Spanish history and all centuries literary references and echos. Highly recommended.

    Reply

  13. roughghosts
    Jun 24, 2016 @ 02:51:44

    I am very excited to see what you think of On the Edge. It is perhaps my favourite new book of the year so far. A tour de force!

    I am hoping to throw a few Spanish titles into the game this month. I have been very sick this month and off my reading but fortunately many of my Spanish choices are short – novellas by Vila-Matas, César Aira, Villalobos. But top of my list is at least one Bolaño (Last Evenings on Earth or By Night in Chile) and Castellanos Moya (I have three of his including an ARC of a July release called Revulsion: Bernhard in SanSalvador – sounds like fun!)

    I only have one scheduled outside review to submit – also a very short book – so I am keen to get to more on my Spanish TBR pile.

    Reply

  14. poseidons99
    Jul 01, 2016 @ 16:30:22

    Congratulations! Mine own blog two days before this post celebrated 2 year birthday. 🙂
    Now and then I participate in a readathon.

    Reply

  15. Melissa Beck
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 22:56:15

    Congratulations on 7 years, Stu! I also ordered Divorce is in the Air, I hope it’s a good one!

    Reply

  16. Trackback: Distant Star – Roberto Bolaño (translated by Chris Andrews) | Messenger's Booker (and more)
  17. Trackback: 2016 in Review – Dolce Bellezza
  18. beataaleksiejuk
    Jan 09, 2017 @ 19:19:01

    I really love Spain 🙂
    I leave you my post about celebration of New Year’s Eve in Madrid

    6 interesting facts about New Year´s Eve Spain Madrid

    Reply

Leave a comment

June 2016
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives