The history of the man in black by Oliver goldsmith

I going try to go through a few irish short stories for Mel of reading lives irish short story month .I was born in Ireland myself co down in the north and my family has a history on my father’s side going back over 300 years in Ireland ,so irish literature is something I read when young with frequent visits to family and friends meant I want to learn more about Ireland .But in the last ten years I ve read less and less so I chosen a few short stories and may try a few novels later this year after my IFFP reading .

so to the story it is told by a son his father was a poor member of a well to do family he had joined the church as a youngest son in Ireland at the time this was normal in middle class families the first son would inherit the second join the army and the third the clergy ,well his son wants some money as he dislikes his families poverty we see how he goes about it in this very short story of four pages ,it does capture a part of Ireland that was in existence for many years .All so shows how quick one could fall from well to do to poor in Ireland in the 1700’s

My father ,the younger son of a good family  was possessed a small living in the church .His education was above his fortune and his generosity greater than his education .

Opening of this short story .

Oliver Goldsmith was a Anglo irish writer alive from the 1720 to the 1770 .he grew up in Ireland went to trinity college in Dublin then went to london after college where he became a member of the club,the exclusive dining club run by Samuel Johnson and Joshua Reynolds ,they meet every two weeks and discussed art and writing .

This story is in my 10 volume collection the worlds thousand best short stories .

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parrish lantern
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 20:32:06

    Sounds like a great anthology collection, with a selection of the worlds best short stories, would be an ideal addition to any library.

    Reply

  2. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 09:59:03

    This is really an ‘old’ classic. Such stories help us measure the changes that have taken place.

    Reply

  3. Anbolyn
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 08:25:50

    A four page short story? That takes skill! I love short stories, but haven’t read many of them lately. I would love to have your 10 volume collection!

    Reply

Leave a comment

March 2012
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives