Two for the road by Roddy Doyle

Two for the road by Roddy Doyle

Irish literature

Source – library book

I am going to try to review it. Book a day in May, and I felt I needed a top-up from the library of short books to read. This was one of those books I remember people saying he had caught a type of guy that sits in a pub so well. I had read several Roddy Doyles books when he won the booker with Paddy Clarke ha ha. I read The Van and several others as well over the years and always loved the films made of his book. For me, he captures the funny side of Dublin life and the special characters that make that city rich, especially like this pair in a pub.
  • See Joe Cocker died.
  • What a fuckin’ voice.
  • Ah, man— But the best thing about him – he taught me tha’ Beatles were shite.
  • Hang on – wha’?
  • Me brother – he’s three years older than me – he brought home Sergeant Pepper’s. An’ everyone in the house loved it. Me ma sang ‘When I’m 64’ and she always cried at ‘She’s Leavin’ Home’, and me sister said, ‘Don’t worry, Ma, I’ll never run away like tha’? But she did – to fuckin’ London. She even met a cunt from the motor trade. But that’s a different story. Anyway—
  • What’s this got to with Joe Cocker?
  • I’m gettin’ there – calm down. They all loved ‘A Little Help from My Friends’ – in the house, like. Even me granny – an’ she hated fuckin’ everythin’. An’ I just thought somethin’ wasn’t right. But then he – me brother, like – he brings home Joe Cocker’s version. The single.
  • Brilliant.
  • No question. An’ me da shouts, five seconds in –

‘Turn tha’ shite down!’ An’ I knew it – in me heart. That’s the way it should be. If the oul’ lad reacts tha’ way, it’s good. If he hums along, it’s shite.

I pick this as I remember the cocker song being the theme to Wonder Years

Two for the Road captures those characters you find in a pub anywhere. Those people you meet for a brief moment or here every afternoon, this is a pair on the way home via the pub, a dying breed in the modern age, chatting about what has been in the news, the latest dead star, whether an actor or singer or a digression about a footballer I loved these as most of the players I knew or an event from the news. He really captured the voices. The use of language and words made these a pair of working-class guys. Some great insights into songs from the dead singers and the memories attached to them, like when Leonard Cohen died, they joked it was because he was a fan of women as a singer, and that had made Trump want him dead. Some classic football chats about great Irish players discussed which was the best. The last piece I laughed at was one of the books by Doyle that had been made into a film, The Snapper.
  • See Trump killed Leonard Cohen.
  • Saw tha’.
  • He doesn’t only hate women. He hates the men tha’ women love. ‘Specially older women.
  • Fuckin’ Clooney’s gone into hidin’.
  • Fuck him an’ his Nespresso.
  • And the Pope.
  • Fuck the Pope?
  • No. Women – they love him. Mine does, an’ anyway.
  • Poor oul’ Leonard. He was good, but. Wasn’t he?
  • Ah, he was. You should hear me grandkids singin’ Hallelujah’.
  • Good, yeah?
  • Fuckin’ hilarious.
  • The wife loved him.
  • Leonard?
  • She even became a Buddhist cos o’ Leonard.
  • Is tha’ righ’?
  • For a few weeks, just. Then she saw me eatin’ a quarter pounder an’ she said, ‘Fuck the Eightfold Path?

But she’s always on at me to wear a hat like Leonard Cohen’s.

Then I laughed at this about the passing of Leonard cohen

Doyle is the chronicler of Dublin’s working class and has a real ear for the way people of the city talk. He has an ear for his home town and how males, in particular, chat. When you speak this out loud, it seems perfect to me. He gives the two guys a true voice, and they seem real. There is a world-weariness in the way. They are speaking. I felt they are maybe in their 60s, with grown-up kids nearing the end of their working life. One imagines Doyle has chatted or observed pairs like this all his life. You have a sense he has an ear for a conversation overheard. These are like those. Each chapter is a day the two chaps meet over the course of five years. The book ends in 2019, a full year before COVID-19, and one wonders if these two would make it through the pandemic?  This book can be read over a beer or two easily. Have you read any books by Doyle? What is your favourite?
Winston Score – A a fun novella with a quirky pair chatting over their world

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kimbofo
    May 11, 2024 @ 03:40:18

    I’ve read most of Doyle’s output and enjoy it. As you say, he really captures working class Dublin life so well and has an ear for how men his own age talk and the topics they discuss. I read somewhere that this “series” — Two Pints (2012), Two More Pints (2014) &
    Two for the Road (2019) — is aimed at older people who have never read books as adults as a way to encourage them to try a new hobby.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      May 11, 2024 @ 20:44:55

      Great I did think the book I remember was two pints I must pick those up as well I can see this drawing old readers in

      Reply

      • kimbofo
        May 12, 2024 @ 03:25:36

        I read Two Pints but don’t seem to have reviewed it on my blog, which is unusual. I think he turned it into a stage play. It’s purely dialogue so I guess it was easy to adapt.

        My favourite Doyle is probably The Snapper but he’s more recent novel, Smile, was extraordinary. I highly recommend it if you haven’t already read it.

  2. Lisa Hill
    May 11, 2024 @ 07:09:30

    I’ve only read Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha.

    But I loved reading that bit about Joe Cocker. The Spouse was totally shocked when he got in my car one day and Cocker blared out through the speakers, full blast. We had met and bonded over classical music, and I hardly ever play the rock music of my youthful years, so he had no idea that I liked Joe Cocker at all.

    LOL My guilty little secret.

    Reply

  3. Cathy746books
    May 11, 2024 @ 11:32:46

    I’ve read lots of Doyle and think that Paddy Clarke and The Woman Who Walked into Doors are fantastic. I loved reading these Two Pints pieces as he posted them on Facebook (which he still does intermittently)

    Reply

Leave a comment

May 2024
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives