Nobel lit 2017 Kazuo Ishiguro

Image result for kazuo ishiguro

 

Well we have just seen the winner announced live a true shock . The winner is Kazuo Ishiguro. I haven’t  on the blog here is a review and this is a shock. He is best known for remains of the day. Here is him on desert island discs . I have only read two of his books and hadn’t had him in mind for this so don’t know what to say.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 11:13:06

    At least this time it’s someone who writes books!
    I’ve read quite a few of his: Never Let Me Go, The Remains of the Day, The Unconsoled and When We Were Orphans, and I’ve got the one about the giant on the TBR. I think he’s a very good author, but I hadn’t ever considered him special enough for the Nobel.
    But apart from wanting Gerald Murnane to win it, I would really like Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o to get the long overdue recognition he deserves.

    Reply

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 12:19:36

    I think Margaret Atwood should have got it….

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Oct 05, 2017 @ 22:40:54

      Yes especially as she been mentioned a lot not sure if that’s just because of new handmaiden tale but also she wrote some book last year that isn’t being published for hundred years and sure that was in Sweden

      Reply

  3. marieryan
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 19:18:21

    Thank you for this information.
    I’ve had “When we were orphans” on my shelf for years but had never been enticed.
    Now is a great opportunity to give it a go. What do fellow-readers think of it?
    Regards. Marie.

    Reply

  4. beckylindroos
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 22:21:19

    Indeed Ishiguro is a worthy candidate – very solid if somewhat uneven oeuvre (imo).

    When We Were Orphans is great – his best of course is Remains of the Day but my favorite is An Artist of the Floating World. I think The Buried Giant is memorable perhaps only because it seemed to promise more than it delivered. ?

    Reply

  5. Roof Beam Reader
    Oct 06, 2017 @ 03:25:51

    I was thrilled at the announcement… seems well-deserved!

    Reply

  6. Annabel (gaskella)
    Oct 08, 2017 @ 13:29:26

    I’m ashamed to say I don’t know anything about Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o (I will look him up), but am happy for Ishiguro whose books I’ve always enjoyed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2017
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
