International translation day 2018

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saint Jerome is the patron saint of translation and it is the day we celebrate translation on international translation day. Well, maybe a look back over the eight years of this blog 750 books 90% in translation. Has seen me travel in my armchair with books from Afghanistan to Yemen in books. But also has seen an explosion in people publishing books from Peirene, Istros, tilted axis, honford star and Noir to name a few, have seen books reach us in English that would have not have done when I started the blog. The future is bright with two new prizes in the pipeline for books in translation and Booker behind what was the Independent foreign fiction prize, people seem more willing to try world lit . As for me the blog has grown and still gives me pleasure especially discovering places and writers. I now start to try and improve navigation of the blog as I want to divide  the reviews into a number of sections such as war, village life, experimental, family, cities, crime and short so as to show the common themes we see in literature no matter of place. How do you think translation has moved on in the last eight years ?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Sep 30, 2017 @ 23:40:40

    Congratulations to one of the heroes of TF on your special day!
    I don’t know about the stats, but I think there are now more bloggers reviewing TF than there were when you started… that’s true of all kinds of blogging of course – there has been an explosion on online reviewing of all sorts – but I am talking about the stayers, including a couple who tend to focus on the novels of one or two countries in translation. (Not like me, I just read what takes my fancy at the time).
    One thing I have definitely noticed – and it might be because of the Man Booker – is that my local suburban library is stocking and promoting TF much more than it used to. They don’t promote it *as* TF, but I quite often see TF titles that I recognise on the new books shelf.

    Reply

  2. MarinaSofia
    Oct 01, 2017 @ 08:26:38

    You have certainly contributed to raising the profile of translated fiction, so hooray for that! I am not always sure if the profile has been raised for translated fiction or if I am merely moving in the circles who enjoy it and talk about it anyway. But I do think more publishers are getting into the game and there are initiatives like getting more translated children’s fiction to introduce diversity in reading early on, which is the best way to go about it really.

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Oct 01, 2017 @ 14:27:15

    I think you definitely deserve special praise for your championing of translated lit Stu – well done! And I agree with Marina that it’s great that more publishers are seeing it as a good thing to be promoting translated works.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2017
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
