Two Japanese classics

I hadn’t been to the local Oxfam (sorry anyone locally it has very little in translation on its shelves as I have them!) for ten day which for me is a long time due to training last week and other things I hadn’t got to town. But I was pleased to find two Japanese classics one had been on my radar a while and the other is by a writer I have tried before and want to try again as my first encounter wasn’t the best but everyone rates him as a writer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First up is Kobo Abe’s Woman in the Dunes, a modern classic that is also a well-known film. It follows seven years in a man’s life as he is trapped by the woman in the dunes. A cat and mouse tale as the two try to escape and the woman uses here female sensuality to keep him there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then we have another backlist book from Peter Owen (i do wish they’d make more of the backlist it is one of the best around) this is by Yukio Mishima whose sailor who fell from grace with the sea, I really didn’t get along with since then I have brought a couple of his books to read . Looking back it reminds me it is a year and half since I reviewed a book from Japan so I need to address that missing Tonys Japan in January which is when I would save my Japanese books to read.

What gems have you found recently ?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BookerTalk
    Jul 02, 2017 @ 16:13:04

    By coincidence I am reading a Japanese work at the moment – Banana Yoshimoto’s Goodby Tsugumi. Quite a beguiling short novel. The only Mishima I’ve read is After the Banquet which was overall enjoyable https://bookertalk.com/2014/04/22/after-the-banquet-by-yukio-mishima-review/

    Reply

  2. MarinaSofia
    Jul 02, 2017 @ 17:01:25

    These are both quite wonderful, though bleak books. The film of The Woman in the Dunes is also worth catching.

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jul 02, 2017 @ 20:02:44

    Nice finds Stu! I read the Mishima (in fact, everything by him) many years back and I should revisit. I have The Woman in the Dunes too but not read yet!

    Reply

  4. Deepika Ramesh
    Jul 03, 2017 @ 06:14:34

    I have the first one. But I haven’t read it. This feels like a sign. I must get to it.

    Reply

  5. 1streading
    Jul 03, 2017 @ 06:27:51

    Two great finds. You make me want to read more Abe! I agree with you about the Peter Owen backlist – some forgotten classics there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
