London Book Fair and Man Booker International longlist

I had a long bookish day yesterday. I set off just before 8 in the morning to London to go to the book fair for a third year . I took a Quebec novel to read on the train which I managed to finish before I got there .

Just as I pulled into London the Man Booker announced their second Longlist .

Compass – Mathias Enard (France) translated by Charlotte Mandell.My review 

Swallowing Mercury – Wioletta Greg (Poland) translated by Eliza Marciniak.My review 

A Horse Walks Into A Bar – David Grossman (Israel) translated by Jessica Cohen.my review 

War And Turpentine – Stefan Hertmans (Belgium) translated by David McKay.Part read

The Unseen – Roy Jacobsen (Norway) translated by Don Bartlett. have to read

The Traitor’s Niche – Ismail Kadare (Albania) translated by John Hodgson. on order from Library

Fish Have No Feet – Jon Kalman Stefansson (Iceland) translated by Phil Roughton.Have read will reread

The Explosion Chronicles – Yan Lianke (China) translated by Carlos Rojas.On order from library

Black Moses – Alain Mabanckou (France) translated by Helen Stevenson.Not out ask serpent tails due in next week then be sent out for review

Bricks And Mortar – Clemens Meyer (Germany) translated by Katy Derbyshire.read will skim through then review

Mirror, Shoulder, Signal – Dorthe Nors (Denmark) translated by Misha Hoekstra.half read

Judas – Amos Oz (Israel) translated by Nicholas de Lange.Have to read

Fever Dream – Samanta Schweblin (Argentina) translated by Megan McDowell.Finished yesterday

As you see I have three reviewed two more read at time list out and one read since so have seven books to read before the short list . I then sped across london to the Fair and head to the Lit translation centre where there are talks given around translation , I grabbed a coffee and bumped into David Colmer the translator  he had done the Bakker novels we chatted he has a classic dutch novella he is translating for archipelago , then Louise Roger Laurie for a quick chat then sat in on a panel with ra page of comma press chatting about metropolitan fiction and the lack of fiction from outside cities and other things .

Then I wandered I want to meet and say hello to Karen at Orenda books as they had a small stand and she had been a support of the blog back in her Arcadia books day > I went and said hello and she was just as she is on-line a really warm friendly person , I also chatted to her editor Camel West about translation and various other things , I got a sample of her latest novel in translation and a new star she has just published .

 

then I was due to meet Susie from Istros . We meet and went for a bite to eat and a drink , I said how shock I was Panorama missed the longlist !! From the first world series she has done with Peter Owen , luckily they had three of the second in the series which Spain is the focus , I could have and also a nice hardback film tie in of Silence .

We also chatted about the longlist, I said Compass for me was the best book of the ones I have read a wonderful book , whilst chatting Susie met the publisher of another small press she knows Archane press , they don’t as yet do translation but have some interesting short story collections . Then we bumped into Rosie Goldsmith whose euro lit network has now gone into print called The Riveter . I then left the fair and meet my dad who was also in London doing some shopping , we had a nice meal at Barbecoua in Piccadilly then I went and got fever dream and Mirror ,shoulder and signal . I had hope with a couple of hours to my train and two and half train journey . I managed to read Fever dream which I will review soon.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Mar 16, 2017 @ 11:44:41

    Wow, what a day, it sounds fantastic. I’m looking forward to hearing more about the books as you review them…
    Would you like me to do a combined reviews post like I did last year so that people can find all the shadow jury reviews in the one place? (https://anzlitlovers.com/2016/03/10/2016-man-booker-international-longlist/)

    Reply

  2. BookerTalk
    Mar 16, 2017 @ 14:47:33

    Phew what a busy day – my head would have been spinning with ideas at the end of that

    Reply

  3. MarinaSofia
    Mar 17, 2017 @ 12:30:15

    Sounds like a very busy and productive day – I was a bit more aimless than that on Thursday at the Book Fair.
    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on all the longlisted authors…

    Reply

  4. kimbofo
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 13:42:56

    Oh, I wish I’d known you were going Stu. I could have met you for a coffee… I live around the corner from Olympia and walk past the venue every single day!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2017
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
