Shadow Man booker prediction 2017

It is a few day til we see the longlist for this years Man booker international prizes , this is the first in the post Boyd era Boyd Tonkins being a judge in all the IFFP and the first man booker so it will beinteresting to see if the panel changes tack with the books on the list. I have select only from books I have read in the last twelve months since the prize .

Sudden death by Alvaro Enrique

A tennis match spreads around thew world at the start of the enlightenment , the second book by him I have read and the best mexican novel from last year .

 

Image result for sudden death alvaro enrigue

Affections by Rodrigo Hasbun

 

A second spanish language novel , last year was a great yeaer for spanish lit yet none made the longlist , this follows a mad german explorer and his family in 1950’s Bolivia .

 

The winterlings by Christina Sanchez-Andrade

Another spanish novel this follows two ssters returning home after somehting cause them to leave the village many years ago .

Moonstone by Sjon

I am a huge fan of Sjon and the story of Mani is dickensian in style with a backdrop of classic films and a flu epidemic

Consteliation by Adrien Bosc

A french pklane crashes and we have pen pics of the crew and paassengers a cross section of the modern world from the disney merchandise cheif to some spanish shepards on hunt for a better life .

Constellation

Trysting by Emmanuelle Pagano

love broken into bare words stripped of who and why beautiful in its brittleness like a leaf skelton of love

Trysting_B_Format_LoRes_RGB_120DPI

Land of my Father by Vamba Sheriff

A freed slave returns to Africa but then want to convert the locals to God at what cost

None like her by Jela Krecic

A man goes on the hunt for lovve a slovenian fonz tries to find the one

 

Panorama by Dusan Sarotar

Simply this is what translated fiction is about the ripple effect of a writer like Sebald hits Slovenian and produces a true gem , as I’ve said I can’t see why Istros haven’t been on the list !!!!!

 

2084 by Boualem Sansal

A new take on 1984 in a ISlamic style country , powerful writing from one of the best writers around

 

Compass by MAthias Enard

Another look at the arab world as a man can’t sleep we see his previous love and the run around the arab world that is no longer there , also the influence of east on western culture .

file_000-17

Book 12 –

Of books I haven;t read here is a selection I think could be there –

War and War laszlo Krasznahorkai

Fever dream by Samantha Schweblin

Transmigration of bodies by Yuri Herrera

are three that may make it also as ever Peirene have had three good books the empress and the cake is a great look at eating disorders .

 

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1streading
    Mar 12, 2017 @ 18:25:20

    A great selection, though slightly scary that I’ve only read Affections (though I have read three of the four you add at the end).
    Getting quite impatient for the announcement now!

    Reply

  2. A Little Blog of Books
    Mar 12, 2017 @ 18:46:25

    Some interesting choices – I think everyone will be surprised if Fever Dream isn’t there!

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Mar 12, 2017 @ 20:09:06

    The only one I’ve read is Affections – which I liked very much!

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Mar 12, 2017 @ 23:04:08

    Well, whether they get on the longlist or not, you’ve given us a great reading list, Stu!
    I’ve read (and reviewed) The Winterlings and Moonstone and I hope they both get onto the longlist because they are superb.

    Reply

  5. biblioglobal
    Mar 13, 2017 @ 01:10:24

    I haven’t read any of these! though I do have Affections and Panorama on my reading list thanks to your reviews.

    Reply

  6. Resh Susan @ The Book Satchel
    Mar 13, 2017 @ 01:37:03

    A great selection indeed. I realise I haven’t read so many of the ones you mentioned. I need to dip my toes in a few before the long list is out

    Reply

  7. Tony
    Mar 13, 2017 @ 08:54:46

    Some great choices here, but I suspect that ‘Sudden Death’ was eligible last year, not this time around…

    Reply

  8. Jenna
    Apr 26, 2017 @ 18:36:10

    I haven’t read any of the mentioned books. But few of them are surely going on my reading list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2017
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
