Winstons books some New arrivals a epic Basque novel

Well its been a good first week of Pushkin Press fortnight, I reviewed Four books and I was so pleased to see my fellow blogger joining in with there own choice. Well a break for the weekend and some new books at Winston’s tower are here –

img_0354

first up two from Alma  Death on credit is a later novel by the well-known but controversal French writer Louis Ferdinand Celine , a story of a doctor taking in the poor and darker sides of Paris . Then we have Cheese about a Clerk in a cheese company that makes a slight over order leaves him with tens of thousand of cheese to get rid of and he hates cheese him self this seems like a great comic work .

img_0352

Next two from Daniela of Europa Jerome Ferrari is a writer I have twice visit on the blog with where I left my soul and The sermon on the mount , which won Prix Goncourt like his earlier books this book takes a look at good and evil in the world here in pre war Germany . The is the first book since we maybe know his wife is Elena Ferrante , but Domenico Starnone was also thought by some to be the writer of the books , he is a fellow neopoltian  writer a story of a marriage also worth mentioning  this is translated by Jhumpa Lahiri .

img_0356

Next to Holland and a Dutch debut novel about Van Goch that tries to go behind the man and discover what he really was like. An interesting idea as we all have ideas of what he was like .

img_0355

Next the first of a number of books from Maclehose as part of a new series celebrating writing from around the world for their first ten years. Bella Donna is the latest from Dasa Drndic the Croatian writer , I have reviewed her two previous books Trieste and Leica format . Belladonna finds a man in old age trying to work out how we got here from what happened in the past the madness of the world we live in that has left him a true intellectual struggling. I’m looking forward to this as I really like her writing style and the way she picks apart the  world .AS I said last week I want to do some event for Maclehose tenth anniversary and for the fact they have been a support of my blog for a long time .

file_000-4

Jacob the translator of this book contact me , the book follows a long lost story The Major refutation is a lost book about a voyage that didn’t find a new world and came back to tell the truth.

img_0350

Last but not least I treated myself to this epic basque novel that follows a couple through the decades from the fire and passion of trying to be independent then setting into their every day lives a look at what it is to be Basque .

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan
    Feb 18, 2017 @ 20:27:04

    Céline’s Death on Credit is possibly my favourite novel by, possibly, my favourite author….possibly. You should enjoy it.

    I’ve just posted my ‘first’ post for Pushkin Press Fortnight. I hope to do at least one more.

    Reply

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Feb 18, 2017 @ 21:10:55

    Nice arrivals Stu! The Celine sounds worth checking out. I’ll try and get a Pushkin title in before the end of the fortnight!

    Reply

  3. Erik Scheffers
    Feb 18, 2017 @ 21:50:55

    Hi Winston, the book by Celine “Death on credit” was a very difficult read for me. It’s written as if it was spoken language. I quitted after 70 pages. The novel by Elsschot is great. It has been made into a graphic novel by Dutch artist Dick Matena. The combination of text and pictures works very well for this one. Greetings, Erik

    Reply

  4. Daša Drndić
    Mar 09, 2017 @ 19:41:48

    Dear Winston, Good luck with my (anti)hero Andreas Ban. Hope we meet again – some time, some place. Warm regards, Daša

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  
