#translationthurs carries on now read the world with female writers

globe from images for free website

A short post time has caught up ith me today and I thought about a reminder that The hashtag #translationthurs is still running every week with or without my help , it has been on a cover of a book and all this from a small post seven years ago. I thought of mentioning it today after a tweet from Meytal who blogs from Biblibio  , who is wanting to repeat the journey Ann Morgan a year of reading the world  with its list of books took around the world but now with just Female writers from each country, she has been champion women in translation for a few years  . I m sure see would love any help anyone has on books from around the world

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Jan 20, 2017 @ 00:00:09

    When I first read one of her posts or tweets I went back through all my reviews of translated fiction and tagged them by gender so it was easy to find this: https://anzlitlovers.com/category/reviews/translations/female-authors-in-translation/.

    As you can see if you visit my blog and scroll down the RH menu (the tag is under the parent-heading Reviews, the number of reviews for translated females is (as of today) 49 female and 177 male i.e. 21%. That doesn’t look so good, but in fact the ratio is skewed by my reading of French classics and of course they are all male (Zola, Balzac, Hugo, Maupassant, Flaubert, Rousseau) except for George Sand’s Indiana, and by my Year of Russian Reading (and their classics are all male (Tolstoy, Turgenev, Gogol etc). If I took those out, and the German classics (also all male too), so that it was just C20th and C21st authors, the ratio would look much more even, as it is for my reading of books in English. I am pleased about this because I do not consciously ever read to balance gender or diversity or anything else. I just read what appeals to me at the time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
