The French compass points to Lithuania

file_000-12

I decide as two books arrived today I would talk about them and save you another review til tomorrow. The first is the first from this years Fitzcarraldo editions and it is a big prize-winning French book this won the Prix Goncourt , I have read a number of the recent winners, this is from a writer I have really enjoyed before Mathias Enard. The book follows a night in Franz Ritter as he is unable to sleep but as the night pass he travels the middle east from Istanbul through Aleppo to Tehran. a bridge from east to west I read an interesting interview about the book and its Orientalist angle of the book from a french website L’orient Litteraire  a very insightful piece. Mathias Enard is one of of the most inventive writers around this is the third book from him I have.

file_000-10

Then I was contact by the publish of this prize-winning Lithuanain novel as he noted I had yet to review a book from their and this is the first book published by a living writer Laura Sintija Cernauskaite won the 2009 eu prize for this book. The book follows a family with a son with epilepsy whom mother adopts another boy a young Orphan taking him to their country home where their lives will never be the same . This is first of two book they are publishing at Noir press .

What books have you had arrive ?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Jan 18, 2017 @ 20:08:33

    Ah, that Lithuanian book would have been perfect for my #EU27Project, but I had already ordered a collection of short stories by women which I found almost by accident. You’ve read quite a bit of Mathias Enard, haven’t you?

    Reply

  2. lizzysiddal
    Jan 18, 2017 @ 20:44:29

    Yes, the Lithuanian novel is a timeous find for my attempt at the #EU27 project ….

    Reply

  3. Lisa Hill
    Jan 18, 2017 @ 22:24:34

    This reminds me that I still haven’t read Zone which I bought after you reviewed it…

    Reply

  4. biblioglobal
    Jan 19, 2017 @ 02:57:34

    Turns out I hadn’t tracked down a book for Lithuania, so I just put Breathing into Marble onto my reading list.

    Reply

  5. beckylindroos
    Jan 19, 2017 @ 12:08:28

    I’ve been keeping my eye out for Lithuania, too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
