1984 no sorry its now 2084 the first book in the post of 2017

file_001-3

Well the first book I got sent this year is from a writer I have reviewed before Boualem Sansal is an Algerian writer that has had his works banned and censored in his homeland. I reviewed Harraga Two years ago. This is of course an homage in a way to Orwell’s  great book 1984 and also a work  against all totalitarian regiemes here  in the future a country called Abistan after its spiritual leader a place where like in Orwell’s world every move is watch we find one man who is trying to find a new truth. What was your first book of 2017

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Jan 13, 2017 @ 12:40:35

    Hi now this was a book I enjoyed, happy reading

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Jan 13, 2017 @ 14:25:29

    I think we’ll pass over my first book because it was a non-fiction book and I didn’t think much of it! My first novel was The Adventures of Augie March by Saul Bellow which I thought was wonderful, and my first translation of the year is Adventures in the Slavic Kitchen, a book of essays with recipes, by Igor Klekh, translated by Slava I Yastremski and Michael M Naydan (from Glagoslav Publications) – which was fascinating!
    I always think it’s so sad that these places that fought to get their independence from colonial powers end up being horrible repressive places that won’t let their authors publish…

    Reply

  3. Annabel (gaskella)
    Jan 14, 2017 @ 13:54:33

    I got a copy of this one in the post yesterday. Looking forward to reading it.

    Reply

  4. 1streading
    Jan 15, 2017 @ 14:29:54

    Like you, I read his previous novel and I’m looking forward to getting this one. (I also like a bit of dystopian fiction!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
