Looking forward 2017 Arab and Quebec book and a White read along

Well I am pleased to see the back off 2017. I spent last few months slowly blogging just think about the turn of the new year being a new start for the blog. I have recieved some great books this last few weeks of 2016. So the start of the year will see one real Gem a Quebec novella The brothers .A truely surreal book.

 

file_000-3

Then I have started on the first few books from the new press from AUC Hoopoe press  . I have read one book already Otared by Mohammad Rabie a book shortlist for the Arabic book prize.They also have some great books coming as well as these other arabic gems on Arablits post of what is coming this next year.

file_001-1

THen In March I join Messy Tony , Grant and Kimbfo in a read along of the great Novel Voss by Patrick white He is the only Aussie writer so far to win the Nobel prize . This is described by the Guardian as .  A love story set against the disappearance of an explorer in the outback, Voss paved the way for a generation of Australian writers to shrug off the colonial past when it was no 77 in there 100 best novels . So join us from March the first and talk about the book ?

file_002-1

I will be doing the shadow man booker again for the sixth year and the first part of this year will see me reviewing some books from the past year as I try to catch up.

Happy new year for tomorrow from allnhere at Winstonsdad .

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sharkell
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 12:25:19

    Happy New Year Stu. Thanks for your blog and I look forward to your bookish thoughts in 2017. I’m quite keen on reading Voss with you – I’ve had it on my shelves for a while and it’s about time I read it.

    Reply

  2. Tony
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 12:33:32

    I’ll be posting on ‘Brothers’ at some point in January (my third of the QC books), and I may well join you for the ‘Voss’ readalong – it’s high time I reread it 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lisa Hill
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 14:07:45

    Happy new year to you and Amanda and looking forward to reading your reviews in 2017!

    Reply

  4. Melissa Beck
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 15:19:58

    Happy New Year, Stu!

    Reply

  5. beckylindroos
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 15:40:47

    What a kick to reread Voss. Enjoy the whole new year, Stu – and happy reading!

    Reply

  6. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 17:23:00

    Happy new year Stu – look forward to reading your thoughts in 2017!

    Reply

  7. Dagny
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 20:02:54

    Happy New Year, Stu!

    Reply

  8. roughghosts
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 21:24:50

    I am reading Brothers today. I didn’t think I would like it (I was afraid ti would be magic realism, but it’s not). It makes me think of Elvad Flisar x10 or the surreal Czech poetry I recently read! A good way to end a surreal year.

    I too hope to read more Arabic lit this year. I collected quite a bit and only read one. So it’s one of my resolutions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
