Winstons books from Spainsh nutella to french love


Well some new arrivals I start of with this interesting book about love , it is a collection of male and female voices on love no names descriptions but just thoughts on what love is for each of us . I finished this last night and it is a one of my favourites so far this year.antother interesting book from And other stories soon to be located in Sheffield ten miles from me .


Now I read the first part of this trilogy last year but I missed reviewing it Mallo in Nocilla expereicne follows what he did in his previous book Nocilla dream and that is walking a fine line between fiction and non fiction in what is true and untruth. A truly refreshing writer. from one of my favourite publishers Fitzcarrado editions.


Next up is The boy a story of a mother trying to find out what happened when her son is found dead on a school trip . How is it he  died.this  Leads to a snowy  night in  Bulgaria she has tracked down her sons teacher and the weather is closing in .The two woman alone in the middle of nowhere .


Then I brought four books on a recent trip to Derby with Amanda , I brought four books whilst the so clockwise we have the Lost daughter by Elena ferrante , yes I know but this is a stand alone novel follows a mother coping with her daughters going to live with their father .Then we have a life full of holes a story of a street arab as told to Paul bowles a story of a loner fighting his way out of poverty . This seems very unusual book to me. A Bolano novella A little lumpen novellita follows a brother and sister as they plan a crime with two criminals after their parents have died. Then we have thirst for love by Yukio Mishima a widow moves in with her father in law and then avoids his advances for her instead turns to a servant but is he interested ?

What new books have you got ?



5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kimbofo
    Oct 15, 2016 @ 16:43:05

    I’ve bought a few off the Giller Prize shortlist… unfortunately I had to import one (Yiddish for Pirates) from Canada and it cost a fortune in postage, so it better be good! 😱


  2. winstonsdad
    Oct 15, 2016 @ 17:12:51

    Well the title is intriguing enough Kim


  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Oct 15, 2016 @ 18:30:09

    Nice books, Stu! I need to get back to reading Mishima again!


  4. Caroline
    Oct 16, 2016 @ 06:36:26

    And other stories is a publisher worth following. Loved its The Busts of Eva Peron. I hadn’t heard of Fitzcarrado; will look them up.


Leave a Reply

October 2016
« Sep    
