Chester and Chest infections

Well I said last week I had a cough well it turns out it was a chest infection and I have to ride it out as it is viral  ,I’ve been off work this week on holiday which is lucky as I hadn’t felt up to work last couple of days I worked the last week. I had no real plans this week other than meeting my mum in Chester for the day as it is halfway between us. Which was a lovely day even if I cough too much.I enjoyed seeing my mum and showing Amanda a new place.

20160907_150446

There is one of the most famous sites of Chester the clock , it was strange going there as it was more than twenty years since last time I had been and on that occasion we had seen the band the Damned wandering around the city. This event strangely echo when a punk with a full pink Mohican passed us as we had a coffee. Anyway like all book bloggers a new city is a chance to visit a book shop but I am a fan of Oxfam so I choose there and found this three books

20160909_115545

I have long wanted to find a few Saul Bellow books to read having read herzog and the dangling man years ago and this set of two from the same Penguin series was a great find , especially as Bellow described the character in Henderson and the rain king the nearest to him as an actual person . Then I found this gem from Ukraine

20160909_115529

The Odessians follows three families through the 20th century described as a beautiful and evocative story and a timeless message of hope . Well I hope as I’m now taken lots tablets to help clear my chest infection I may in the next day or two be able to catch up on some reviews and reading . How are you all what you been up to recently ?

20160907_150515

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 11:22:26

    Poor you – such a nasty thing to have at any time, but especially when the weather is still summery outside.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 11:37:53

    Blimey, The Damned – that’s a blast from the blast! i used to regularly see Captain Sensible mooching round town when I lived in Brighton, but that was quite a while after I’d given up the faff of goth styling requirements. Nice book finds – I hope you enjoy reading them, and hope that you’re on the mend soon!

    Reply

  3. Tony
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 12:45:24

    Hope you’re feeling better soon, Stu😦

    Reply

  4. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 13:08:35

    Sorry about the chest, Stu, but at least you had a nice day out – and some great book finds!

    Reply

  5. BookerTalk
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 22:38:24

    Chester is a lovely city to mooch about. Did you find the second hand bookshop on top of the city walls?

    Reply

  6. Travellin' Penguin (Pam)
    Sep 11, 2016 @ 06:25:53

    Hope you are feeling better. I have had a hiatus from blogging but am back now. Motivated to read again and about to travel from Tasmania to Cornwall, Wales and Ireland in a 4 week car trip with a friend who I used to work with when living in USA. I look forward to beautiful scenery, people watching, photography and updating blog posts regularly especially after visiting book shops. I love Chester. A beautiful place. I remember buying quite a few green Penguins in a bookshop that was at the top level of the wall towards the end and slipping on ice as I left the shop. Thanks for the memory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
