And the winners are The First Man booker winner and our shadow winner as well

 

MBI2016 Logo RGB pink

Well It has just been announced that the winner of the first year of the New Man booker international prize is

The Vegetarian by Han Kang Translator I’m so pleased this won as it is a hugely popular book , If not with my self as much as some of my fellow jurors , but it was the clear winner in the shadow Jury.I have meet Deborah and seen her start her publishing house via twitter it is a great day for nritish translation and translators.

Earlier today we announced our shadow winner

The vegetarian by Han Kang Translator Deborah Smith

, as I was busy I decide to combine my post. But I will point you in the way of a post from the weekend by my fellow chair of the Shadow Jury on the years we have both shadow the prize . I enjoyed doing the shadow jury again. I look back as this year Lisa help put together a list of combined reviews . AGain we have reviewed every book at least three times like in our other years. Yhis year saw a shot out between our winner Vegetarian and Death by water by Kenzaburo Oe which nearly won this year showing the quality of this years shortlist and longlist. Thanks to all the shadow Jury again we have shown the depth of books in translation !!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    May 16, 2016 @ 23:23:51

    Thanks for the mention, Stu, and I am pleased that I have read the one that nearly won!
    Congratulations to you and all the shadow jury team, there is no doubt that it’s a great way to follow the prize:)

    Reply

  2. JacquiWine
    May 17, 2016 @ 06:00:53

    Well done to you and your fellow shadowers, Stu – a great effort all round. Nice to see that you picked the winner too!

    Reply

  3. MarinaSofia
    May 17, 2016 @ 15:18:26

    Is this a first – the shadow committee agreeing with the actual winner? Well done for all your effort, really enjoyed all of your reviews!

    Reply

  4. heatherdpear
    May 17, 2016 @ 17:04:13

    this book has been on my radar since I first learned about it. Glad to read that it won.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2016
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
