From Brazil to Egypt recent buys

image

I’m not in mood to review a book so will go through a few recent buys from Oxfam first is the third book by Joao Ubaldo Ribero I have brought so I think a review of one of his books is over due this is set during the police state years of Brazils history.

image

Next up is a Cuban classic Explosion in a Cathedral a classic I have been trying to read for a while so this old Penguin was a great find . The story of Hughes who becomes a revolutionary.

image

Another writer I have read a Breyten Breytenbach before
Intimate stranger which Archipelago published they also have a copy of this book. A story of one man’s time in prison and how it can effect ones vision of time.

image

I grew up reading Hunter like many men in my generation this collection of his later journalist pieces is one I hadn’t read. It captured the best of the late years of his work .

image

A month in the country is a classic gem and I have his other book how steeple Sinderby won the FA cup on my tbr pile which given Leicester dream season I may just read if they win the league this year. I also Brough this as it shares it’s title with the arthur Ransome Biography I read a  few years ago.

image

And in the end to Egypt in the 1930 and 40s with a modern classic of Arabic fiction.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 14:46:42

    Wonderful finds, Stu. I have an Alejo Carpentier somewhere, though not this one.

    Reply

  2. Scott W.
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 20:17:19

    Good haul! I especially look forward to reading what you have to say about Mouroir, a book long on my TBR list. Breytenbach’s A Season in Paradise is one of my “desert island” books.

    Reply

  3. roughghosts
    Apr 12, 2016 @ 07:15:04

    Great finds Stu. Interesting cover on the Breytenbach (one of his paintings I presume). I have an Archipelago edition of Mouroir which I bought in South Africa.

    Reply

  4. Caroline
    Apr 12, 2016 @ 07:46:44

    Great covers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
