Sunday score and some open letters

image

Well I have spent the last seven year not scoring my books but I feel I need to change this as I have enough reviews I feel to go back and  over time show my taste and books I really like over those I simply like. I am aim to use a similar scale to Michael from complete review with A through to C with plus and minus so we go from
A+ as an essential read a true ground break book
A a book that should make end of year lists
A- a good strong book
B+ worth trying
B borrow or loan
B- OK
C+ just not for me
C I struggled to finish
C-don’t touch with a barge pole
Most of what I read will be in the a- to b zone a few a and maybe four or five a+ a year.I feel this may help make clear what I like really I tend be nicer about books than I should be at times. But I do really know the ones that fit my idea of cannon works.

image

I was lucky to get two more titles from the American publisher Open letter The first is Loquela by Carlos Lane. He was in the Granta best Spanish writers collection 8s from Chile and this is a Latin American novel that is part Paul auster and Borges it seems. Then another comic novel from Bulgaria as the comic books from Bulgaria I have read have.all been fun this is another darkly funny look at the madness of the Soviet era as the country tries to throw of the shackles of this regime.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sharkell
    Apr 03, 2016 @ 21:00:04

    I really like this idea – it will help us decide which ones we really should read.

    Reply

  2. BookerTalk
    Apr 03, 2016 @ 23:10:58

    Yiu are much more brave than I am. Or maybe it’s just you are more decisive. I gave up on trying to score my reading when I found d everything was just in the middle

    Reply

  3. Deepika Ramesh
    Apr 05, 2016 @ 04:51:45

    That’s a unique scale. Really liked it.🙂

    Reply

  4. kimbofo
    Apr 05, 2016 @ 17:11:32

    Interesting decision, Stu. I went the opposite way and removed my five-star ratings when I discovered many people wouldn’t bother reading anything that was less than four stars. I felt they were missing out on some truly great reads, so got rid of my ratings entirely. (Though, of course, if people really want to know what rating I’d give a book they simply have to look at my Good Reads feed.)

    Reply

  5. whisperinggums
    Apr 12, 2016 @ 02:57:02

    I rate privately to help with my end of year lists, but I don’t rate publicly. My top reads are those I give 9 or more (or sometimes 8.5) too. I occasionally re assess my ratings at the end of year review, because time has affected my longer term view. I rarely rate below 7.5. I figure I’ve made a mistake choosing that book to read if it’s not worth that in my scale. I do give the occasional 7s, but almost never anything below that. I’ve checked my database and I’ve rated 0.03% below 7!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
